Food Science
Sample Reference books (in paper)
Links go to library catalog record
Find these books in the Reference Collection
in the Science and Engineering Library.
Colour Atlas of Food Quality Control by Call Number: UM Science Reference / TP372.5 .S77ISBN: 0723408157Publication Date: 1986
Dictionary of Flavors by Call Number: UM Science Reference / TP418 .D4 2017eb E-BookISBN: 9781118856437Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Food Additives Data Book by Call Number: UM Science TX553.A3 F573 2003ISBN: 0632063955Publication Date: 2003
Official Methods of the AOAC International - 18th ed.Call Number: UM Science Reference / S587.A73Publication Date: 2005
The Prentice Hall Essentials Dictionary of Culinary Arts by Call Number: TX349 .L34 2008ISBN: 9780131704633Publication Date: 2008
Online reference sources
A small sample of e-resources:
Off-campus access to subscriptions: UMass Amherst NetID
Bacteriological Analytical Manual U.S. Food and Drug Administration's preferred laboratory procedures for microbiological analyses of foods and cosmetics. AOAC International published previous editions of this manual in a loose-leaf notebook format, and, more recently, on CD-ROM. This online BAM is now available to the public.
"Bad Bug" Book : Foodborne Pathogenic Microorganisms and Natural Toxins Handbook, 2nd ed. (2012) (293-page PDF)
Basic facts regarding foodborne pathogenic microorganisms and natural toxins from the FDA, CDC, and other US governmental agencies.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Research methods for microbiology, genetics, bioinformatics, proteins, plant biology, neuroscience, lab organisms, and imaging. UMass library subscription.
Desk encyclopedia of animal and bacterial virology / eds., Brian W.J. Mahy and Marc H.V. Van Regenmortel. Oxford : Academic, c2010.
Food: In Context (Gale encyclopedia, 2011)
Examines food in relationship to nutrition, world health issues, agriculture, environmental concerns, current events and political decision-making.
Food Safety (Gale monograph, 2012)
Explores the issues surrounding food safety by placing opinions from a wide range of sources in a pro/con format. Features articles that express various perspectives on this topic.
Formulation engineering of foods / edited by Jennifer E. Norton, Peter J. Fryer, and Ian T. Norton. Chichester, West Sussex, UK : Wiley Blackwell, 2013.
Formulation engineering approaches to food processing and product development of healthier, higher-performance foods. Links to library catalog record.
Sensory and consumer research in food product design and development / Howard R. Moskowitz, Jacqueline H. Beckley, and Anna V.A. Resurreccion. Ames, Iowa : Blackwell Pub., 2012.
From the business viewpoint, critical issues for sensory analysts, product developers, and market researchers in food and beverages. Link to library catalog record.
Sensory evaluation of food : principles and practices / Harry T. Lawless, Hildegarde Heymann. 2nd ed. New York : Springer, 2010.
Link to library catalog record - new edition of a classic in the field.
Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Industrial processes and materials explained; try looking up "beer"!
Wiley Encyclopedia of Packaging Technology, 3rd ed. (2009) John Wiley & Sons, Inc., Hoboken, NJ
Link to library catalog record - articles on topics from "Acrylic plastics" to "Wrapping machinery." See Index.
Basic facts regarding foodborne pathogenic microorganisms and natural toxins from the FDA, CDC, and other US governmental agencies.
Research methods for microbiology, genetics, bioinformatics, proteins, plant biology, neuroscience, lab organisms, and imaging.
- Official Methods of Analysis of the AOAC This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Best resource for standard laboratory methods in food science.
