SCH-MGMT200 Career and Professional Development
Industry Research Databases
Each of these databases can provide you with information about an industry, including analysis of and reports about its major players, key trends and conditions, the competitive landscape, and more. You will also come away being better able to answer questions about your target industry's characteristics and what you find most interesting about the industry.
IBISWorld
This resource provides current analysis of over 700 major U.S. industries. Report chapters: At a Glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Forces, Companies, Key Statistics and more. Use this database to understand the landscape for a particular company's industry, including key trends, drivers, and opportunities that exist. Useful features for job seekers are the sections under Call Prep Questions, which include real-world questions and answers about specific roles, internal issues and external factors affecting the industry.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
US Industry reports - current analysis of every US industry. Report chapters: Industry at a Glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Major Companies, Operating Conditions, Key Statistics.
Global Data Explorer
This resource includes information and data related to over 20 industry sectors, 600K companies, SWOT analyses, global trends, and analysis. Navigate to this site and click on the Sector Analysis video that shows how to effectively conduct a sector analysis, or industry, search.
- GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides data on U.S. and foreign companies and 20+ industry sectors, SWOT analyses, global trends, product launches, social media analytics, case studies, market research and insights reports.
To access, open the link, then click on the button "IP Access" on the GlobalData login page.
BCC Research
This database provides market research and analysis for both the U.S. and global markets. Industry focus is primarily on the technical and scientific marketplace, including life sciences, engineering, manufacturing, technology and more.
- BCC Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type: Market research reports. Description: BCC reports analyze the industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology marketplace. Industry focus: life sciences, advanced materials, manufacturing, chemical, engineering.
Plunkett Research Online
This resource contains market and trend analysis for 35 US industry sectors. Available information includes competitive intelligence, industry marketing data, job search and employment data, company profiles, executive lists and much more. This is a great go-to database for job-seekers and career preparation.
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Market and industry trend analysis for 35 US industry sectors. Includes statistical tables, business intelligence, key industry associations, corporate executive contacts, industry glossary.
Insider Intelligence
This resource includes market data, statistics, and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media, and emerging technologies. It contains research reports, forecasts, performance metrics, charts, trends and analysis for five core areas: advertising & marketing, e-commerce & retail, financial services, health, and technology.
- Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Market analysis and data with a focus on the Internet, digital marketing/advertising, mobile communication, e-commerce, social media, and emerging technologies. Insider Intelligence is useful for understanding trends, user demographics, consumer behavior, and the growth and impact of digital technologies.
