Judaic Studies

A guide to researching Judiaism and Jewish culture

Welcome!

This guide will introduce you to Judaic studies resources available through the UMass Amherst Libraries and beyond. Whether you're just starting your research and looking for background information, exploring books and articles, or looking for archival collections, the library is here to help.

Please don't hesitate to reach out to me using my contact information on the left side of this page to ask questions over email for schedule a consultation (in-person or virtual). For more immediate assistance on weekdays, visit the library's Get Help page.

Cai Fischietto
Librarian for Judaic Studies

Quick Links for Research

Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Search to find (e-)books, articles, films, and more. It contains most but not all of the resources available to you through the UMass Amherst Libraries and the other Five College libraries.
Free to use for anyone to find records. Some results, and detailed information such as PDFs and full text links, are available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Judaic Studies and Near Eastern Studies Databases
View and access library databases specific to Judaic and Near Eastern Studies. The full Database A-Z list contains many more.

Oxford Bibliographies: Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Expert discussion of topics and sub-topics in Jewish Studies, with extensive annotated lists of best books and articles.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Judaic Studies and Jewish Life at UMass

Judaic Studies Program at UMass Amherst
Judaic studies majors embark on interdisciplinary exploration that spans ancient and modern worlds. Through a full range of courses in Hebrew, Yiddish, Jewish history, Israeli studies, philosophy, law, politics, literature, and film, students participate in rigorous cultural and linguistic inquiry. Taught by faculty with specializations in history, public policy, literature, theater, and more, these courses provide critical perspectives on the role played by Jewish culture in the development of human civilization.
Jewish Resources at UMass Amherst
Comprehensive list of Jewish resources on-campus and in the surrounding area. This includes UMass Hillel, Chabad House, the Jewish Learning Initiative on Campus (JLIC), and more.