Biomedical Engineering
Open Textbooks for Engineering
American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) - Engineering Libraries Division Guide to:
Theses
-
BME Theses and Dissertations in ScholarworksScholarworks is the University of Massachusetts Amherst Digital Repository.
-
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new windowUS and Canadian dissertations and theses from 1861 to present. Mostly full-text 1997 to present.
-
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations.org includes records from the British Library’s EThOS Service, the University of Florida, the University of Michigan, Michigan State University, University of North Texas, and the University of Kentucky.
-
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new windowIndexes of over 3.5 million graduate-level electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) that are freely available online.
-
Theses Canada This link opens in a new windowFull-text Canadian theses and dissertations in the Library and Archives Canada collection
Find Books in the Five Colleges Libraries Collection
- Use Discovery Search's Advanced Search
- Search for the title or author of the book or use keywords that describe your topic
- Refine your results by format: select Books and/or eBooks
- Locate your book
- eBooks: follow the UMass: Link to resource to access the full text
- Books: note the call number and location (eg. UMass Amherst Science & Engineering Library) or place a request to have the book delivered for pick-up at a UMass Library
Books for Biomedical Engineering
Looking for background information on an unfamiliar topic? Books are a great way to become more familiar with new topics. See below for some examples of handbooks, encyclopedias, and other similar resources relevant to Biomedical Engineering.
-
AccessScience This link opens in a new windowCovers all major scientific disciplines and offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.
-
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the 100th edition of this indispensable reference for chemical and physical data.
Covers topics including: Basic Constants; Nomenclature; Thermochemistry, Electrochemistry, and Solution Chemistry; Organic Chemistry; Inorganic Chemistry; Analytical Chemistry; Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy; Properties of Solids; Geophysics, Astronomy, and Acoustics; Health and Safety Information; Mathematical Tables; and more. -
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, expert reports on research and development topics in engineering and computer science; includes access to Complete Collections One, Two, Three, and Four.
-
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
by
ISBN: 9780123786319Publication Date: 2013-01-08"The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry, Second Edition, represents the current state of a dynamic and crucial field of study. The Encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry, with content experts carefully chosen by the Editorial Board to assure both breadth and depth in its coverage.Editors-In-Chief William J. Lennarz and M. Daniel Lane have crafted a work that proceeds from the acknowledgement that understanding every living process-from physiology, to immunology, and genetics-is impossible without a grasp on the basic chemistry that provides its underpinning. Each article in the work provides an up-to-date snapshot of a given topic, written by experts, as well as suggestions for further readings for students and researcher wishing to go into greater depth.Available on-line via SciVerse ScienceDirect, the functionality of the Encyclopedia will provide easy linking to referenced articles, electronic searching, as well an online index and glossary to aid comprehension and searchability" (from publisher). -
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
by
ISBN: 9780470015902Publication Date: 2005-09-09"The Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (eLS) is a regularly updating reference work containing over 6,300 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles written by leaders in the field. It offers comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the life sciences for students, lecturers and researchers alike. eLS articles are accompanied by colour illustrations and tables. Appendix and glossary material provide essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data. As all articles have been peer-reviewed, a balanced representation of the literature is ensured" (from publisher). -
Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology, 4 Volume Set
by
ISBN: 9780471754770Publication Date: 2009-01-09"Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology is an authoritative work illuminating the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences, and is essential for academic researchers and advanced students looking for timely review-type information in this field. The reference reflects the multidimensional character of chemical biology, focusing in particular on the fundamental science of biological structures and systems, the use of chemical and biological techniques to elucidate that science, and the applications of this knowledge in areas as diverse as drug discovery, sensor technology, and catalysis" (from publisher).
