Open Scholarship & Scholarly Publishing
Covering various elements of producing and sharing scholarship.
Scholarly Communication Librarian
Christine Turner
she/her/hers
Contact:
Scholarly Communication Department
Room 1967
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
Website
Room 1967
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
Creative Commons License
Funding Open Scholarship and Scholarly Publishing
Open scholarship shifts the costs of producing scholarly outputs (articles, books, data sets, code, protocols, etc.) and supporting infrastructure (hardware, indexing, metadata, operating systems, software, unique identifiers, etc.) from the reader/user to the author/researcher, charitable organization, academic institution, government or some combination of these. Historically, a user would access traditional scholarly outputs (articles, books, journals) by paying for a membership, subscription or purchase, or they would gain access as an authorized user of an academic institution, public library or organization that pays for access on their behalf. At the foundation of the open access movement is the evolution of digital scholarship which has created opportunities for sharing a more complete representation of research outputs without financial barriers for accessing them. The "user pays" model now has alternatives that do not put the burden of payment for access on the reader/user.
The means of paying for open scholarship are constantly evolving. These are some funding models in current use:
| Funding type | Description | Examples |
| Author/article processing charges (APCs) | publisher sets a fee for open access publication of articles and books/chapters. These fees can range for a few hundred to thousands of dollars which enable immediate (Gold/hybrid) access to the published work. The author of the work is responsible for payment, but may receive financial and administrative support from their funder, institution and/or library. | Elsevier, Springer/Nature, MDPI, PLOS, SAGE Publishing, Routledge |
| Community action/investment | publisher/provider proposes to publish open access journals or books if they achieve a certain level of investment from libraries, consortia and other community partners. In these agreements, the author bears no financial responsibility. | Knowledge Unlatched, Public Domain Song Anthology, MIT Press Direct to Open, Lyrasis Open Access Community Investment Program, PLOS Community Action Publishing, Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics (SCOAP3), University of Michigan Press Fund to Mission |
| Memberships | publisher, provider and advocacy organizations run their operations, all or in part, with fees they collect from other member organizations. In some cases, membership grants authors affiliated with the organization a reduction in open access APCs. | Open Library of the Humanities, arXiv, BioOne, SPIE Journals Open Access, The Royal Society, Frontiers |
| Subscribe to Open (S2O) | publisher will "flip" a set number of journal issues or books that have been toll or subscription funded to open access based on achieving a threshold of payments from libraries. In these agreements, the author bears no financial responsibility. More information is available from the Subscribe to Open Community of Practice. | Annual Reviews, Berghahn, Central European University Press (CEUP) |
| Transformative agreements | publisher charges the library/institution for both read/use access and open access publication of research for members of that organization. There are many different types of TAs. Authors may or may not be responsible for partial payment, depending on the availability of other sources of publication funding, but the transaction costs are generally handled by the publisher and library/institution. Some have expressed concerns that TAs entrench existing, inequitable publishing systems. | see ESAC Transformative Agreement Registry. See also ACM Open. |
UMass Amherst Open Access Agreements and Advocacy
The UMass Amherst Libraries have been providing financial support for open scholarship content, infrastructure and advocacy organizations for two decades. These investments are guided by our Framework for Provider Agreements. If you have questions about how to benefit from these agreements, or you would like to suggest new ones, please contact us.
| Publisher/Provider | Content Type(s) | Benefit | Funding Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual Reviews | articles, journals | Open access to use content. Publish with no APCs. | S2O |
| Association for Computing Machinery | journals, magazines, conference proceedings | Open access to use content. Publish with no APCs. | transformative agreement |
| ArXiv | preprint articles | Open access to use content. | membership |
| Berghahn Open Anthro | articles, journals | Open access to use content. Publish with no APCs. | S2O |
| BioMed Central | articles | 15% discount on APCs for UMass Amherst authors. | subscription |
| Bloomsbury Open Collection - African Studies and International Development | e-books | Open access to use 20 new and 194 backlist titles. Publish with no APCs. | community investment |
| Cambridge University Press | articles | APCs are waived for UMass Amherst authrs for OA publication in gold and hybrid journals. | transformative agreement |
| Central European University Press | e-books | Open access to use 25 new and 50 backlist titles. | S2O |
| InTechOpen | e-books | Open access to use scholarly monographs mostly in STEM, with some in social sciences and humanities. | community investment |
| JSTOR Path to Open | e-books | Open access to use hundreds of scholarly monographs in the humanities and social sciences three years after publication. Publish with no APCs. | community investment |
| Knowledge Unlatched | e-books | Open access to use scholarly monographs in the humanities and social sciences. | community investment |
| Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP) | archives, books, letters, etc. | All content is open access. | membership |
| Lyrasis Open Access Community Investment Program (OACIP) | e-journals | Open access to use journals Engaging Science, Technology and Society; Environmental Humanities; Combinatorial Theory; History of Media Studies; Journal of Librarianship and Scholarly Communication and Liquid Blackness. Forthcoming: American Indian Culture and Research Journal; Cultural Anthropology; International Journal of Strength and Conditioning. Publish with no APCs. | community investment |
| MDPI | articles | 10% discount on APCs for UMass Amherst authors. | membership |
| MIT Press Direct to Open | books | Open access to use scholarly monographs in STEM, social sciences and humanities. | community investment |
| Open Book Publishers | books | Open access to use scholarly monographs. | membership |
| Open Encyclopedia of Anthropology | books | Open access to use. | community investment |
| Open Library for the Humanities (OLH) | articles | Open access to content. Publish in 27 journals with no APCs. | membership |
| PLOS | articles | Open access to use content. Publish with reduced ($400) APC, or no APC, depending on title. | community investment |
| Proceedings of the National Academy of Science (PNAS) | articles | All content is open within six months of publication. For immediate open access, APC is reduced by $500. | institutional license/ subscription |
| Public Domain Song Anthology | popular music | Open access to use content. | community investment |
| The Royal Society | articles | 25% discount on APCs for UMass Amherst authors. | membership |
| SPIE Journals Open Access | articles | 25% discount on APCs for UMass Amherst authors. | subscription |
| Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics (SCOAP3) | articles, books | Open access to use content. Publish with no APCs. | community investment |
| SpringerOpen | articles | 15% discount on APCs for UMass Amherst corresponding authors. | subscription |
| Technical Reports Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) | government reports | Access to content without charge | membership |
| University of Michigan Fund to Mission | books | Open access to scholarly monographs in the social sciences and humanities | community investment |
| Publisher/Provider | Content Type(s) | Benefit | Funding Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| BioOne | articles, journals | Platform to find open access articles from publishers in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. | subscription |
| Directory of Open Access Books | database, books | Directory, indexing and curating of peer-reviewed open access books. | membership |
| Directory of Open Access Journals | database, journals | Directory, indexing and curating of peer-reviewed open access journals. | membership |
| Free Journal Network | Diamond (non-APC) open access journals | Community-governed, open source platform and support network for diamond OA journals. | membership |
| Fulcrum/Michigan Publishing | books,3-D models, embedded audio, video, and databases; zoomable online images, and interactive media | Community-developed, open source platform for digital scholarship. | community investment |
| Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) | theses and dissertations | Federated search of T&Ds. Also promotes adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of T&Ds. | membership |
| Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OApen) | books | Directory, indexing, platform and publishing services for open access books. | membership |
| Open Researcher/Contributor ID (ORCID) | unique identifier and researcher/contributor data platform | Open source, community-governed platform that assigns unique researcher/contributor identifiers which may be populated with profile data and exchanged with other publisher, funder and institution systems at the researcher's discretion. | membership |
| Open Textbook Library | textbooks | Open textbook platform and discovery service. Textbooks include reviews and all content is openly licensed. | membership |
| Pressbooks | textbooks and books | Open source, community-governed book publishing platform | local instance and support |
| Organization | Description | Funding Type |
|---|---|---|
| Coalition of Open Access Policy Institutions (COAPI) | Representatives from North American universities with established faculty Open Access policies and those in the process of developing them | membership |
| Higher Education Leadership Initiative for Open Scholarship (HELIOS) | Colleges and universities committed to collective action to advance open scholarship within and across their campuses | membership |
| Library Publishing Coalition (LPC) | Dedicated to supporting libraries in their publishing initiatives, including open access publishing efforts. UMass is a founding member. | membership |
| Open Education Network | Provides a collaborative community, programming and platform for open education resource development. | membership |
| Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) | Supports open access, open education and scholarly communication community development initiatives, analysis and policy development. | membership |
Framework for Provider Agreements
The UMass Amherst Libraries' Framework for Provider Agreements guides how the Libraries invest in content and infrastructure based on a set of principles that favor open scholarship, authors' rights and broad participation in the production of and use of scholarship. The Libraries collaborate with campus scholars to distribute their works.
