Libraries Ask Us

Student Legal Services

Quick start

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legal encyclopedias, law reviews, and legal treatises; case, statutory, and regulatory law; newspapers and magazines; business data, 1980s-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Social Law Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Unique material includes MA administrative agency rulings, Superior Court, Housing Court, and Land Court opinions, as well as the Massachusetts Register. Users can also access Fastcase legal research service, and the Legal Information Reference Center which includes information and forms for patrons of varying legal expertise.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
HeinOnline Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes complete coverage beginning with the first volume of more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals, classic legal treatises from the 18th and 19th centuries, and English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867).
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Google Scholar
Includes full text of cases in federal district and appeals courts, and state appeals courts.
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (2016)
This free, online guide by Cornell's Legal Information Institute is indexed to both the ALWD guide and the 19th edition of The Bluebook. It also documents the many respects in which contemporary legal writing, very often following guidelines set out in court rules, diverges from the citation formats specified by those academic texts.