Libraries Ask Us

Student Legal Services

Legal databases

UMass subscription databases

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscription-based legal database that includes federal and state legislation and case law; law treatises, reviews and journals; legal newspapers; legal dictionaries and encyclopedias; business data from 1980s to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
HeinOnline Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscription-based legal database that includes complete coverage beginning with the first volume of more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals, classic legal treatises from the 18th and 19th centuries, and English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867).
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscription-based legal database that includes federal and state legislation and case law; law reviews and journals; legal newspapers; Shepard's Citations; EU, Commonwealth and other nations.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Social Law Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Unique material includes MA administrative agency rulings, Superior Court, Housing Court, and Land Court opinions, as well as the Massachusetts Register. Users can also access Fastcase legal research service, and the Legal Information Reference Center which includes information and forms for patrons of varying legal expertise.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Subject Compilations of State Laws This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provided by HeinOnline. An index of articles, books, court opinions, and other publications that compare state laws, with many links to full text. Searchable by subject, 1925-current with a two year lag.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Web resources

Law: Digital Commons Network
Open access academic research in law from top universities in the world. Includes law review articles, working papers, theses, and dissertations.
Law Review Commons
Open access database of law review and law journal articles.
Legal Information Institute (LII)
Open access to legal resources such as federal and state legislation and case law, and rules of procedure; WEX legal encyclopedia; subject guides (by area of law); table of popular names of legislation.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides access to many cases and citations to law review articles.