ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS
- UMass/Five College Online CatalogFind books, journals, and media collections held by UMass Libraries and the Five Colleges.
- WorldCatCombined catalog of most North American and many world libraries.
Comments (0)
OTHER RESOURCES
- UMass Interlibrary LoanObtain a loan of books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
- RefWorksA citation management service for storing and formatting bibliographic references.
- Interdepartmental Program in Film Studies
FILM REVIEW SOURCES
- Historical New York TimesThe entire New York Times, searchable, in image files, from 1851 to three years ago.
- LexisNexis AcademicMassive database of US and international newspapers, 1980-present.
- Westlaw Campus ResearchNewspapers and magazines, 1980's-present.
LIBRARY DATABASES
- Academic Search PremierA good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
- Academic OneFileA large, interdisciplinary collection of scholarly, professional and trade journal articles, 1980-present.
- Film Literature IndexCitations to articles appearing in popular and scholarly film periodicals journals from 130 countries, 1976- 2001.
- International Index to the Performing ArtsCitations to articles in journals covering theater, dance, film, and puppetry, 1864-present.
- MLA International BibliographyAn index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, and linguistics. Coverage from 1920’s-present.
ONLINE REFERENCE SOURCES
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains 10 volumes of the History of the American Cinema and 3 volumes of VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever under the Arts heading. - International Dictionary of Films and FilmmakersFilms, actors and actresses, directors, and writers and production artists.
SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES
- Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
- DEFA Film Library at UMass Amherst
- Europa Film TreasuresEuropean film heritage.
- FilmportalDetailed credits of tens of thousands of German feature films ranging from 1895 till today. As of now, 7,000 titles are covered in-depth, featuring synopses, reviews, photos or posters. Lists 155,500 names relevant for German film and has over 3000 biographies.
- Index to Motion Picture Credits
- Internet Archive: Movie ArchiveLibrary of free movies, films, and videos.
- Internet Movie Database
- PopMattersCultural criticism including music, television, films, books, multimedia, and theatre.
Film Studies Subject Guide |
Contact Info Research and Liaison Services W.E.B. Du Bois Library (413) 545-3981 (413) 577-1536 (fax) Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
