Chemistry
CRS Reports / Congressional Research Service
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is the non-partisan public policy research arm of the United States Congress.
CRS experts prepare reports to assist members of Congress throughout the legislative process providing background information and data on public policy issues.
- ProQuest Legislative and Executive Publications This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Hearings, bills, laws and legislative histories, committee prints, Congressional Research Service reports, Congressional Record and predecessors, Executive Branch docs to 1939, and the Serial Set.
Words of Advice
- Take a look at the various handouts for this class
- Take the quiz about plagiarism
- Get started with the Zotero citation management tool (or find one you like)
My molecule that matters
JYW Chemistry
Types of Information
Accessing Information
- Where to look to be most effective / Discipline Specific Databases
- Develop a Search Strategy
- Search the databases Web of Science and SciFinder Web.
- Use magazine articles to scaffold information or to get a sense of how information is communicated to a non-science audience; use the database Academic Search Premier and limit to magazines.
If you are not finding what you need, put in an InterLibrary Loan Request for the item.
To find information specific to a certain discipline, search the Database by Subject drop-down menu.
To find a certain type of information, search the Database by Type drop-down menu.
Scaffolding to What You Need to Know - Encyclopedias are a great resource for gathering background information. They act as good primers and are more authoritative than Wikipedia.
- Access Science - AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines.
- Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Comprehensive articles on topics in chemistry and chemical engineering, with bibliographies.
- Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry Covers the science and technology of industrial chemistry.
- Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry Covers the chemistry of the compounds and processes that constitute living organisms.
- Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology Chemical biology is a cross-disciplinary science at the interface of chemistry, biology, and medicine emphasizing rigorous application of the principles, tools, and language of chemistry to important topics in biology.
- Encyclopedia of Electrical & Electronics Engineering The ideal starting point for research projects, whether addressing basic questions in power systems and communications, or learning advanced applications in neural networks and robotics.
- Encyclopedia of Polymer Science & Technology Providing information about polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization processes.
Citing Information
- Use a Citation Manager, such as Zotero, to collect & organize citations, and create a bibliography.
- What do you know about plagarism and how to avoid it? (WCC Library)
What's a Scholarly Journal?
