ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS
- UMass/Five College Online CatalogFind books, journals, and media collections held by UMass Libraries and the Five Colleges.
- WorldCatCombined catalog of most North American and many world libraries.
Comments (0)
OTHER RESOURCES
- UMass Interlibrary LoanBorrow books held outside the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
- RefWorksA citation management service for storing and formatting bibliographic references.
- Classics Department
LIBRARY DATABASES
- Academic Search PremierA good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present. Click "Choose Databases" to search specifically within ATLA Religion Database and Philosopher's Index.
- Academic OneFileA large, interdisciplinary collection of scholarly, professional and trade journal articles, 1980-present. Includes coverage of the arts and literature.
- L'Année philologiqueCitations to journal articles and books in the field of Classics. Search for ancient authors using the Latin form of the name.
- JSTORCore scholarly journals dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before the present.
- Project MuseScholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; 1996-present.
- Bibliography of the History of ArtArticles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history, 1973-present.
- Philosopher's IndexA bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. 1940-present.
ONLINE REFERENCE SOURCES
- Ancient Europe, 8000 BC to 1000 AD: An Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World
- Classical and Medieval Literature CriticismExcerpts of both early and modern commentary on the major Greek and Roman writers.
- Library of Latin TextsDigital version of the majority of extant Latin texts, searchable by author, word(s) in text, period, and more. Before 200 B.C.E.–1965.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and RomeThis multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries
- Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (English-Latin)
- Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Latin-English)
SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES
- Classical Myth: The Ancient SourcesDraws together the ancient texts and images available on the Web concerning the major figures of Greek and Roman mythology.
- Greek and Latin Language Resources
- Latin Dictionary
- Perseus Digital LibraryIntegrated collection of textual and visual materials about the classical world.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Theoi Greek MythologyExplores mythology in classical literature and art.
- Zenon DAI"Zenon DAI is part union catalog and part index; it contains the holdings of the nine libraries of the German Archaeological Institute... and it also contains records for journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, and Festschriften. The bibliography covers Greek and Roman culture."
Classics Subject Guide |
Contact Info Research and Liaison Services W.E.B. Du Bois Library (413) 545-3981 (413) 577-1536 (fax) Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
