Last Updated: Mar 29, 2017
- China Academic Journals
We have Full-text access only to the section that we subscribe to: Literature/History/Philosophy and for the years 1994-present. You can see tables of contents for the journals on the same website. Use the citations to request the articles through interlibrary loan. Search using either simplified Chinese or English but be warned that the results using English won't be as good. Smith College's subscription includes more areas than ours, so please go to Smith if you are doing research in political science, economics, or management.
- Hong Kong Journals Online
Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO) is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong.
Not all databases provide the full-text of articles. Some like BAS are citation only. In most cases there will be a UMLinks button that you can click that will search our local information and tell you if there is an e-text available, print copy in the 5 colleges, or if you need to request a copy through interlibrary loan. It costs the library quite a bit of money to purchase the articles on your behalf - so wse interlibrary loan wisely.
Sometimes you want to work backwards. You see a citation in a book or article that you want to read. Use the citation linker to see if the Library has the item.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. This is a citation only database, so you will need to either use the library catalog in cooperation or click on the button for "find it @ your library"
- Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.
- MLA Bibliography
This is an excellent database for research in the Humanities - literature, theater, and film studies. It includes some full-text, and then you should use UMLinks to see if we have copies of the other citations you are interested in.
- PAIS International
Public and social policy literature in political science, international relations, social sciences. Articles, government documents, reports, 1915-present.
- Linguistics Abstracts
A database of abstracts from over 600 scholarly linguistics journals, 1985-present.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
Articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to the humanities, social sciences, and non-technical general sciences, 1980-present.
- Google Scholar
If you connect to Google Scholar through the Library page, you will be able to access the articles for which the library has paid subscription fees. Sometimes Google Scholar is a good choice when you are thinking about a topic and not sure what angle to take.