Libraries Ask Us

Russian, Eurasian, and Polish Studies

ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS

Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Search to find (e)books, articles, films, and more. It contains most but not all of the resources available to you through the UMass Amherst Libraries and the other Five College libraries.
Free to use for anyone to find records. Some results, and detailed information such as PDFs and full text links, are available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.
Content is freely available for use by all.

OTHER RESOURCES

UMass Interlibrary Loan
Borrow books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
Slavic & East European Studies
The interdisciplinary program in Slavic and East European Studies at UMASS

Languages and Language Instruction

Omniglot
An online encyclopedia of languages. This page groups languages by family and provides an A-Z search.
Russia Today, Learn Russian
Teach yourself Russian!
Russian Language
Omniglot's Russian page, containing alphabets and scripts, sample translations and recordings, and links to websites to learn Russian.
Slavic Language Dictionaries
Hosted by YourDictionary.com, This page contains a listing of dictionaries. [A good number of the links are broken, but there are still many useful resources.]

LIBRARY DATABASES

Academic OneFile
- This link opens in a new window
A large interdisciplinary collection of scholarly, professional and trade journal articles, 1980-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Kanopy Films
Streaming video of films on many aspects of literature.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s -
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

ONLINE REFERENCE SOURCES

Europa World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large collection of literature reference material, including criticism and author biographies.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES

Chronology of Russian History
An online resource from the Bucknell University Russian Studies Program.
FEEFHS Map Library
The Federation of East European Family History Societies maintains a small digitized collection of historical maps of Central and Eastern Europe.
Russian & East European Studies Virtual Library
Designed to help users identify high quality web content that is located in or focuses on the region stretching from Bohemia to Central Asia.
Russian Philosophy on the Intelnet
Contains introductory information on 19th and 20th century Russian philosophy.
Inkternational News Link
Links to newspapers and news sources from all over the world. Includes a large number of Eastern European sources. Some have an option to be viewed in English.
Russia Religion News
Searchable online database of selected translated articles on religion in the former Soviet Union from 1996 to the present.
EurasiaNet
Information and analysis about political, economic, environmental and social developments in Central Asia and the Caucasus, Russia, the Middle East, and Southwest Asia.
Russian Painting
Rollins College's website devoted to the history of Russian painting. Covers early iconography to contemporary art.
Images of Russia and Caucasus Region 1929-1933
Digital collection of photographs of Russia and the Caucasus region by William O. Field in the late 1920s and early 1930s.
SovLit.com
Searchable website dedicated to the study and preservation of Soviet literature.
Yiddish Book Center
A Hampshire College center that preserves, translates and disseminates Yiddish books, providing educational programs to broaden understanding of modern Jewish identity.

Revision History

Revised by Ellen Kaye (Fall 2015)