SCH-MGMT310 Crisis Communication + Corporate Response
Librarian
Contact Information
Journals & Articles
Use these databases to find relevant journal articles about your company, including news about the crisis, how the company communicated, what worked well (or didn't), trends in the industry, and more. Use strategic keyword searching to narrow your search to find information of interest that is relevant to your assignment.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Content type: Business journal articles. Description: ABI/INFORM is the library's largest online full-text business journal collection. 3,000 business periodicals - peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, business magazines, 1960 - present, including the Wall Street Journal, 1984 - present. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present. - Access World Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of U.S. and global news sources, including printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content Type: Business journal articles, company reports. Description: Peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, and business magazines. Company SWOT reports. Includes the Harvard Business Review, Volume 1 (1922) to present. - Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business news from 110 US and Canadian regional business publications. Coverage of all metro and regional markets - from 1990 to present. Use this resource to locate hard-to-find local and regional business news.
Key Library Databases
Each of these databases can provide you with helpful information about a company, its strategies around branding and communication, and how it compares with its peers in the landscape. You will also come away with information about the overall industry and media landscape via analysis and case studies, news, and company and industry research reports.
Global Data Explorer
This resource includes information and data related to over 20 industry sectors, 600K companies, SWOT analyses, global trends, and analysis. Navigate to this site and click on the Company Analysis video that shows how to effectively conduct a company analysis search.
- GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides data on U.S. and foreign companies and 20+ industry sectors, SWOT analyses, global trends, product launches, social media analytics, case studies, market research and insights reports.
To access, open the link, then click on the button "IP Access" on the GlobalData login page.
IBISWorld
This resource provides current analysis of over 700 major U.S. industries. Report chapters: At a Glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Forces, Companies, External Environment, Key Statistics and more. It can be useful to use this database to understand the landscape for a particular company's industry, including key trends, drivers, and opportunities that exist.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Industry reports - current analysis of every US industry. Report chapters: Industry at a Glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Major Companies, Operating Conditions, Key Statistics.
Mergent Intellect
This resource can be used to find information about companies and competitors using several different criteria, including size, location, industry, sales, and more. You can also conduct a basic search for a company by name and see what is included in their profile from the database landing page.
This video from Northern Illinois University's Library does a great job of explaining how to conduct a search and how to navigate the Mergent Intellect database.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database features a deep collection of comprehensive worldwide business information, including information from Hoover's, First Research and the D&B Million Dollar Database. Includes detailed information on over 245 million businesses with contact information for executives, demographics and behavior types for US households, Nielsen Pop Fact reports, and global corporate family trees.
Nexis Uni
This database includes news, company information, and legal sources that you can search via keywords or through an advanced search. A helpful source of information when conducting company research is through their quarterly earnings conference calls. These are recorded as print transcripts, and can be found in NexisUni. The reports can be an effective way of understanding a company's strategies and how they frame their successes, earnings, initiatives, and failures with analysts. They can be found by searching for the Fair Disclosure Wire as detailed by this video from Ohio University Libraries.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
World Advertising Research Center (WARC)
This database contains a wide range of information on the advertising and marketing landscape, including trends, expenditure data, case studies, news, and consumer insights.
- World Advertising Research Center (WARC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The World Advertising Research Center (WARC) provides articles on advertising, marketing, brands and campaigns. It includes case studies, marketing intelligence, best practice guides, consumer insight, industry trends, news, data and forecasts, trends in TV viewing, newspapers and other media, economic and demographic data, profiles of major brand owners and more.
