Humanities Research Services Librarian
Summer 2023: Please email to setup a time to chat! Mariar@umass.edu
Subjects: English, Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies
- UMass Interlibrary LoanObtain a loan book from libraries within and outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
- Kanopy FilmsStreaming video of films related to philosophy.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts for philosophy journal articles and books published in Western languages, 1940-present.Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
- PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index and bibliography of journals, books, open access archives and personal pages related to philosophy.Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia of philosophy kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field.Content is freely available for use by all.
ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS
- Discovery Search This link opens in a new windowFind articles across a large number of library resources with just one search! Begin your generalized research here.Free to use for anyone to find records. Some results, and detailed information such as PDFs and full text links, are available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowThe combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.Content is freely available for use by all.
ONLINE REFERENCE SOURCES
- Oxford Companion to PhilosophyA guide to all areas of philosophy and the ideas of notable philosophers from antiquity to present day.
- Oxford Dictionary of PhilosophyContains definitions of terms from all areas of philosophy, as well as the related fields of science, religion, and logic.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of AestheticsFeaturing 815 articles by distinguished scholars from many fields and countries, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts—from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.
SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES
- Internet Encyclopedia of PhilosophyPeer reviewed, open access information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. Authors of entries are professors and specialists from the field in which they write.
- Philosophy BookshelfPhilosophical works in Project Gutenberg's catalog are listed in roughly chronological order by subject.
- Philosophy Education Resource GuideGeneral resources – including free online philosophy courses – study resources, teaching resources and much more.
- Last Updated: Sep 6, 2022 5:16 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/philosophy
- Print Page