PUBHLTH 323 Public Health Communications
- Find Articles
- Helpful Websites for Health Communication Campaign
- Writing & Citing
- Video Tips & Tutorials
- Link to Public Health Research Guide
Your Public Health Librarian
Lederle Graduate Research Center Lowrise
740 N Pleasant St
Recommended Databases for Your Lit Review
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowNational Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCurrent Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Complete includes indexing back to 1937 of over 5,000 journals as well as full-text of over 1,300 journals, 27 books, 134 evidence-based care sheets, 360 research instruments records, 169 quick lessons and more.Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPublished by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed journal literature in psychology, behavioral science and mental health - 2,500 journal titles indexed - 2.8 million records - 1887 to present.Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowEducation journal articles (EJ references) and ERIC documents (ED references), 1967-present. EDs before 1997 are requestable using the Microforms Request page and usable in the Microforms Vewing Room in the LC.Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Finding Full Text & Interlibrary Loan
When you find an article you want, you can click on the UMass search button to get the full text.
The UMass search button connects to a tool that will find the full text online if it is available in any of the databases UMass has access to.
- It will also search the library catalog to see if the library has it in print.
If an article or book is unavailable at UMass Amherst, you can get it using our Interlibrary Loan service. There will be a link to Request this resource through Interlibrary Loan on the window that opens after you click the UMass search button.
- Here's a screenshot as an example of you might see after clicking the UMass search button.
More about Interlibrary Loan
To log into Interlibrary Loan use your UMass NetID and password (same as what you use for SPIRE and Moodle or Blackboard).
The first time you use Interlibrary Loan, you will be prompted to fill out a profile form, so we know who you are and how to contact you when your item arrives.
- NOTE: In the Delivery Preferences section of the profile form, you must choose a Loan Delivery Method and a Pickup Location. All article requests are delivered electronically, so these options do not apply to articles.
After completing the profile, you should then see a pre-populated article request form. Make sure all the required fields are completed (sometimes they don't all transfer to the form), then submit it and usually in 1-2 business days you'll get an email that your article has arrived! The email will include a link into the Interlibrary Loan system, where your article PDF will be available to print or download.
Is the journal Peer Reviewed?
Many of your assignments will require you to locate articles from Peer Reviewed journals. Some databases include an option to limit your search results to only articles from peer reviewed journal.
Other databases, like PubMed, do not. There are several ways you can find out if a journal is peer reviewed.
One of the easiest ways is to look the journal title up using the eJournals link on the UMass Amherst Libraries home page. Above the journal title, it will say peer reviewed if it is.Or, you can look it up in the Ulrich's database (linked below). Peer reviewed (also called refereed) journals will have this symbol next to the title:
How to find out if a Journal is Peer ReviewedHandout with step-by-step instructions on how to find out if a journal is Peer-Reviewed
Ulrich's Web This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index of periodicals types, published worldwide.Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Tips for Searching Databases
Search Term Connectors:
Use AND to find articles that contain both words you enter. AND narrows your search.
Use OR to find articles that contain either word you enter. OR broadens your search.
Use NOT to find articles that exclude words or terms you don't want. NOT narrows your search. (Be careful using NOT, as you can unintentionally exclude articles that would be good for your topic.)
You can also narrow your search by putting a search phrase in quotation marks. For example, searching for "heart attack" will usually give you fewer results than just searching heart attack.
Accessing Age Group Filters in PubMed
Accessing Age Group Filters in PubMed
- Conduct a search in PubMed.
- On the Results page, look on the left where the default filters are displayed.
- At the bottom of the list, click the button “Additional filters.”
- Click on “Age” and then click in the boxes for all the age categories you want to have available.
- Click the “Show” button.
- You should now have a filter section called “Age.”
- Click on the one (or ones) you want to limit your search to studies identified as having that age group as subjects.
You can go through a similar process for other filters available.
- Last Updated: Apr 3, 2023 10:38 AM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/ph323
- Print Page