NRC 100 Environment and Society
Librarian
Lederle GRC Lowrise
UMass Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003
mcharney@library.umass.edu
Problem Solvers
- Get Help
- For library help
- Database Help
- Email dbhelp@umass.libanswers.com
- IT Help Desk
- For computer help; phone 413-545-9400, email it@umass.edu, or chat with a consultant
New York Times
Each UMass patron has a free subscription to the New York Times online.
To sign up and access, follow these instructions:
https://guides.library.umass.edu/nytimes
Types of sources you will need for your assignment:
- at least one popular or news article
- at least one scientific journal article and
- at least one other type of source (this could be a government report, an NGO or non-profit report, encyclopedia, trade journal, or a book)
Resources for writing
- Scholarly vs Popular (NC State)
- Developing a Search Strategy (Librarian S.Lucchesi)
- Test your plagiarism skills (Everett Community College)
Databases for finding articles
The first three resources will help you find popular articles as well as other content.
- Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources. It groups information by type of publication: e.g., academic journal articles, magazines, newspapers, podcasts, encyclopedia entries, etc. - Environment Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For articles from scientific, legal, and popular journals, 1950s- present. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More general, but has popular magazine articles. - Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book chapters, reports, and conference proceedings published in the field of aquatic science, some in full text, 1965-present. - AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of "applied biology" including aquaculture and fisheries. Incluldes journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports. 1970-present. - Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Animal (including fish) research from 1864 forward. - BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biology research from 1969 forward. - Biological and Agricultural Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research literature from 1984 forward. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science Citation Abstracts - High impact research in all sciences from 1900 forward. Search by "cited reference."
CRS Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is the non-partisan public policy research arm of the United States Congress.
CRS experts prepare reports to assist members of Congress throughout the legislative process providing background information and data on public policy issues.
- CRS Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports by the public policy research arm of the U. S. Congress on current issues and their legal and legislative status, 1970-present. Library doesn't subscribe to tabbed extras like Bills, Memebers & Votes, etc.
How to cite a CRS report APA 7th edition:
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of report in sentence case and italics (CRS Report No. xxxxxxx). Retrieved from Congressional Research Service website: URL
Example:
Erwin, M. C. (2011). Intelligence issues for Congress (CRS Report No. RL33539). Retrieved from Congressional Research Service website: http://www.fas.org/sgp/crs/intel/RL33539.pdf
Using a citation manager
Sometimes you need to create a citation on the fly, while other times, your writing will be more complicated and involve citing several items and keeping track of sources. For this type of work, use a citation manager.
To decide which citation manager to use: Citation Manager Comparison Chart
The Libraries offer workshops on the different citation managers: Libraries Events Calendar
