History

ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS

Five College Catalog
Find books, journals, and media collections held by UMass Libraries and the Five Colleges.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.
Content is freely available for use by all.

UMass Interlibrary Loan
Obtain a loan of books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
History Department
Boston Public Library
FOR MORE HISTORICAL DATABASES - GET A FREE eCARD FROM THE BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY

more...less...
The Boston Public Library (BPL) and the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) offer all Massachusetts residents remote access to proprietary databases. This includes historical newspapers, government information, and geneaology sources.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Kanopy Films: Ancient History
Streaming video of films depicting ancient history.
Kanopy Films: Modern History
Streaming video of films depicting modern history.

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The classic general encyclopedia, constantly updated. A good starting point for all kinds of research.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Europa World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

New dictionary of the history of ideas by Maryanne Cline Horowitz (Editor)
Call Number: UMass Reference E-Book CB9 .N49 2005
Publication Date: 2005
E-Book

History Online
Provides information about and for historians.
Voice of the Shuttle: History
World History Matters
Portal to world history websites developed by the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University.
World Wide Virtual Library: History