Disaster & Rebuilding in Haiti
One year later
Remember, Reflect, Respond
Haiti One Year Later | January 14, 2011
Please save the evening of January 14th, 2011 hosted by Partners In Health to commemorate the year anniversary of the earthquake that devastated our beloved Haiti. This event will take place in Boston and streamed live on the web.
We hope you will join us in remembering those who lost their lives and in honoring those unsung heroes who have worked tirelessly to rebuild their country. This day will be a time to reflect on all that we have accomplished together over the last year, while also mobilizing around all that is left to be done.
Ways to participate
Join PIH in Boston
January 14, 2011, 6:00 p.m. at John Hancock Hall in Boston, MA.
A special event, free and open to the public.
Watch the webcast
Stand in solidarity with Haiti
Consider how your school or community can join PIH in reflection on January 14. Sign-up for more information.
Share your reflection
Participate in the Kenbe Fem Project
The commemoration is an opportunity for remembrance, reflection, and recognition. Join us in participating in The Kenbe Fèm Project. Learn more.
Local Response
Many organizations and individuals have responded locally. See UMass Amherst campus & community response.
News & Governmental Response
- CNN Haiti EarthquakeContinuing coverage from Cable News Network.
- Democracy Now!A national, daily, independent, news program.
- Haiti Earthquake 2010: Facts, Engineering, Images & MapsClearinghouse of information and resources updated daily by a team of librarian/information specialists addressing: earthquake facts, statistics and reports, structural engineering news, aerial imagery, maps, remote sensing & GIS, news sources and photos, health care & medical information, disaster & emergency management, as well as background on Haiti.
- Haitian TimesOnline edition of the English-language Haitian newsweekly.
- HaitiVOICESRecently launched site that shares different aid organization's needs, capabilities, and resources to improve response and coordination in real time.
- Health Resources for HaitiUS National Library of Medicine
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
- MediahackerReports from independent journalist based in Port-au-Prince.
- ReliefWeb Haiti: Earthquakes - Jan 2010On-line gateway to information (documents and maps) on humanitarian emergencies and disasters.
- White House BlogPresidential response to the crisis.
Maps
- Haiti Earthquake of 12 January 2010US Department of the Interior.
- Haiti earthquake: refugees leave Port-au-PrinceInteractive map by The Guardian showing refugee migration from Port-au-Prince to rural communities in Haiti.
- Haiti MapsFrom the University of Texas Perry-Castañeda Library Online Map Collection
- Haiti The 2010 Earthquake in HaitiA comprehensive and up-to-date crisis map for the humanitarian community. The information is mapped in near real time and gathered from reports coming from inside Haiti.
- MAP CENTRE Haiti: Earthquakes - Jan 2010Frequently updated maps compiled by ReliefWeb.
Importance of Learning About Haiti
TransAfrica founder Randall Robinson, author of An Unbroken Agony: Haiti, from Revolution to the Kidnapping of a President: "We need to be told the whole story of these wonderful, resilient, courageous and industrious people." (Full transcript.)
How to Help
Teaching About Haiti: "Part of our commitment to the people of Haiti at this time can be to not only increase our support but also our awareness." (Resources and strategies.)
Democracy Now! Haiti Cholera Outbreak Reaches Port-au-Prince, Congress Continues to Block Release of Aid Funds (November 11, 2010) In Haiti, a cholera outbreak has reached the capital Port-au-Prince, where more than a million people are still homeless and living in crowded tent cities following January’s deadly earthquake. Meanwhile in Washington, Congress has put up another obstacle to delivering the $1.15 billion in reconstruction money it promised to Haiti back in March.
Organizations Providing Help - Needing Donations and/or Volunteers
- Committee for the Dignity of Haiti(Local Western Massachusetts group)
- Habitat for Humanity - Haiti(See also http://www.habitathaiti.org)
- HaitiVOICES(Recently launched site that shares different aid organization's needs, capabilities, and resources to improve response and coordination in real time)
- Hands On Disaster Response(Volunteer ‘response’ organization that comes in quickly, but after the search and rescue phase, to fill in gaps left by governmental and non-governmental agencies in clean-up, community recovery and reconstruction projects.)
- Hands Together(Based in Springfield, MA)
- InterAction Members Respond to the Earthquake in Haiti(70 organizations that are providing help in Haiti)
- P.E.A.C.H. (Progressive effort for the advancement of change in Haiti)(Association created by UMass students and other individuals who care about conditions in developing countries. Most of their work will be concentrated in Haiti for now. They seek to ameliorate conditions through research, advocacy and implementation of projects.)
- RNs Help in Haiti(List of organizations needing nurses to go to Haiti)
- Unshaken, by charity: water(Unshaken is a fundraising campaign to help Haiti recover from the earthquake by providing people with access to clean, safe drinking water.)
Books & Videos
Books and videos about Haiti at UMass, the Five Colleges, and beyond
Background Information
For putting events into
context and for researching background, we recommend the following sources. (See also Books and Videos on Haiti page.)
- A Country Study: HaitiLibrary of Congress Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present. - CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CAB focuses on international development - providing access to the world’s applied life sciences literature, 1973 to present.
UMass Libraries' subscription includes: CAB Abstracts Archive; VetMed Resource. - Columbia International Affairs Online: CIAO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text working and position papers, books, and journals - from international affairs research institutes, 1991-present.
- Europa World Year Book entry on HaitiA very useful encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered. - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals on Latin America & the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border area, and U.S. Latinos, 1970-present. - Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
- PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-.
- The 12 Jan. 2010 Haiti Earthquake and the Enriquillo-Plaintain FaultIn response to the recent, tragic earthquake that struck southern Haiti, the Geological Society of America has provided open access (free) papers that address the Caribbean plate and the Enriquillo-Plaintain fault line.
- World Development Indicators Online This link opens in a new windowWorld Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources - presents the most current and accurate global development data available, including national, regional and global estimates. Coverage from 1960 to present.
Featured books
The Black Jacobins: Toussaint L'Ouverture and the San Domingo Revolution by Call Number: F1923 .T85 1963ISBN: 0679724672Publication Date: 1989
Getting Haiti right this time: the U.S. and the coup by Call Number: E183.8.H2 C47 2004ISBN: 1567513190Publication Date: 2004
In the parish of the poor: writings from Haiti by Call Number: BX4705.A7235 A3 1990ISBN: 0883446820Publication Date: 1990
Travesty in Haiti: a true account of Christian missions, orphanages, fraud, food aid and drug trafficking by Call Number: F1928.2 .S39 2010ISBN: 9781419698033Publication Date: 2010Available through Interlibrary Loan
An unbroken agony: Haiti, from revolution to the kidnapping of a president by Call Number: F1928.23.A75 R36 2007ISBN: 9780465070503Publication Date: 2008
Voodoo: search for the spirit by Call Number: BL2490 .H875 1995ISBN: 0810928574Publication Date: 1995
Walking on fire: Haitian women's stories of survival and resistance by Call Number: HQ1511 .B45 2001ISBN: 080148748XPublication Date: 2001
