Libraries Ask Us

French 303: Writing on Language

ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS

Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Search to find (e)books, articles, films, and more. It contains most but not all of the resources available to you through the UMass Amherst Libraries and the other Five College libraries.
Free to use for anyone to find records. Some results, and detailed information such as PDFs and full text links, are available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.
Content is freely available for use by all.

OTHER RESOURCES

Article databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s -
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic OneFile
- This link opens in a new window
A large interdisciplinary collection of scholarly, professional and trade journal articles, 1980-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

ONLINE REFERENCE SOURCES

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large collection of literature reference material, including criticism and author biographies.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies and substantial excerpts from critical responses over time, on the works of a huge number of authors from classical time to the present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Literature Online Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
350,000 literary works in English: British and American poetry, drama and prose, plus some journals and literature reference sources.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains both early and modern critical interpretations of the greatest writers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance and the Restoration. Part of Literature Criticism Online.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Lexilogos--online dictionaries

Europa World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Countries & their cultures

Selected print reference materials

Tresor de la langue française
PC2625.I4 16v.

Le Robert: Dictionnaire de la langue française
PC2625.R552 1985 9v.

Dictionnaire des literatures de langue française
PQ41.B4 1987 4v.

The Concise Dictionary of French Literature
PQ41.C6 1976

Dictionary of Modern French Literature
PQ41.D65 1986

Guide to French Literature
PQ41.L48 1992 2v.

The Feminist Encyclopedia of French Literature
PQ149.F47 1999

Dictionaire littéraire des femmes de langue française
PQ149.M27 1996

Dictionnaire des œuvres du XX°siècle litérature française et francophone
PQ305.D5 1995