Entrepreneurship Collection
Your Librarian
Contact Information
Welcome!
Welcome UMass entrepreneurs. The library supports entrepreneurs with tools and collections designed for start-ups, inventors and social entrepreneurs. For patent research, please go to the Patent Research Guide.
You can use this guide as a starting point in your research as it pertains to entrepreneurship. The tabs on the left have more information about the following topics:
If you need any assistance, please contact your librarian, Alison Messier. For instant service, go to the Get Help page on the library website.
Fall 2024 "Meet with the Business Librarian" Hours!
In-person
- Wednesdays (starting 9/11), 2:30 - 5 p.m., ISOM Rm. N342
- Thursdays (starting 9/12), 10 a.m. - 1 p.m., ISOM Learning Commons/Business Hub
Is another time more convenient? You can make an appointment in person or virtually via the Make An Appointment link on the left-hand side of this page.
Best Bets
- BCC Research This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Content type: Market research reports. Description: BCC reports analyze the industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology marketplace. Industry focus: life sciences, advanced materials, manufacturing, chemical, engineering. - CB Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First Time Users: You must create an account with UMass Amherst email address using the Sign Up link on the login page.
CB Insights provide a real-time listing of US venture capital/private equity deals. Search by keyword for deals, companies, or investors. Filter results by industry, investor type, investment stage, deal size, funding amount, geographic location.If you are having problems accessing CB Insights, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies.
- Directory of Venture Capital & Private Equity Firms This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type: Company directory. Description: Current, comprehensive listing of US/Canadian venture capital and private equity firms - 3,000 firms, 1,000 branches, 12,000 partners, plus 15,000 portfolio companies. Sample pages.
Directory organization: Four major sections: domestic firms, Canadian firms, domestic associations, and international firms. Indexes: Firm name, average investment, fund size, geographic index, industry preference index, portfolio companies index, executive index, college/university index.
Firm profiles includes: redbullet contact information redbullet mission statement redbullet industry group preference redbullet portfolio companies redbullet geographic preference redbullet average and minimum investment redbullet investment criteria redbullet partner biographies redbullet - Entrepreneurship Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly resources and practitioner tools for enterprise and innovation research - annual reports, journals & magazines, blogs, business cases, business plans, forms & templates, dissertations, e-books, how-to guides, streaming video clips. - IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Industry reports - current analysis of every US industry. Report chapters: Industry at a Glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Major Companies, Operating Conditions, Key Statistics. - Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1,000+ current consumer market reports - analyze consumer market drivers, market size, segmentation, consumer characteristics, supply structure, advertising, promotion, retail distribution. SECTORS: Automotive, beauty, fashion, financial services, food & drink, food service, health & wellness, household, leisure, entertainment, travel, tourism.
Mintel no longer allows full PDF downloads of reports. Customized PPT downloads are still available and all of the same data and insights. Proxy users will need to create a profile to download.
