Economics Research Guide

Here you will find the resources you need to conduct your library research.

Economics resources

Books on Economics are generally found in the following Library of Congress Classes:

HB – Economic theory	HF – Commerce
HC – Economic history and conditions	HG – Finance
HD – Industries, land use, labor	HJ – Public finance
HE – Transportation and communication	HX – Socialism, communism, anarchism

How to read Library of Congress call numbers

To find books and articles on Economics in the Discovery Catalog, you can search by Subject Terms in the advanced search interface, for example, Economics AND Ecology. At the results page, you can further narrow your search by using filters for Scholarly Peer Reviewed Articles, or Source Types > Books and/or eBooks.

Print books from one of the other Five Colleges can be requested from the Discovery Catalog. Books (or chapters or articles) not available from any of the Five Colleges can be requested via Interlibrary Loan. Please note that ebooks from the other Five Colleges cannot be accessed from UMass, you would have to visit the college's library.

Du Bois floor directory

Textbooks on Economics are generally found in the following Library of Congress Classes:

HB – Economic theory	HF – Commerce
HC – Economic history and conditions	HG – Finance
HD – Industries, land use, labor	HJ – Public finance
HE – Transportation and communication	HX – Socialism, communism, anarchism

How to read Library of Congress call numbers

Open access textbooks

Principles of Economics by University of Minnesota Libraries (Adapted by)
Call Number: e-book (open access)

ISBN: 9781946135162

Publication Date: 2016
Principles of Economics 3e by Steven A. Greenlaw; David Shapiro; Daniel MacDonald
Call Number: e-book (open access)

ISBN: 9781951693633

Publication Date: 2022
Principles of Macroeconomics by University of Minnesota Libraries (Adapted by)
Call Number: e-book (open access)

ISBN: 9781946135179

Publication Date: 2016
Principles of Macroeconomics 3e by David Shapiro; Daniel MacDonald; Steven A. Greenlaw
Call Number: e-book (open access)

ISBN: 9781951693640

Publication Date: 2022
Principles of Microeconomics 3e by David Shapiro; Daniel MacDonald; Steven A. Greenlaw
Call Number: e-book (open access)

ISBN: 9781951693657

Publication Date: 2022

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online
Full text of the 8 volume print 2nd edition, an archive of the 1987 text and quarterly additions and updates.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Economics: The Definitive Encyclopedia from Theory to Practice by David A. Dieterle (Editor)
Call Number: e-book

ISBN: 9780313397080

Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Financial Models by Frank J. Fabozzi (Editor)
Call Number: e-book

ISBN: 9781118539804

Publication Date: 2012
An Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics by Brian Snowdon (Editor); Howard R. Vane (Editor)
Call Number: HB172.5 .E55 2002

ISBN: 1840643870

Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Political Economy by Phillip O'Hara
Call Number: HB61 .E554 2001

ISBN: 9780415154260

Publication Date: 1999

Two volumes.
International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology by Jens Beckert (Editor); Milan Zafirovski (Editor)
Call Number: e-book

ISBN: 9780203824214

Publication Date: 2005
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by N. J. Smelser (Editor-In-Chief); P. B. Baltes (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: e-book

ISBN: 9780080430768

Publication Date: 2001
The Social Science Encyclopedia by Adam Kuper (Editor)
Call Number: H41 .S63 2004

ISBN: 9780415320962

Publication Date: 2005

Two volumes.

What Articles Are Prominent in My Field?
5-minute video on using "Web of Science" to find highly-cited articles.
All Economics databases at UMass Amherst

ABI/INFORM Complete
Content type: Business journal articles. Description: ABI/INFORM is the library's largest online full-text business journal collection. 3,000 business periodicals - peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, business magazines, 1960 - present, including the Wall Street Journal, 1984 - present.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
AGRICOLA
Covers agriculture; plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics and engineering; alternative farming; nutrition, 1970-present.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
IBISWorld
US Industry reports - current analysis of every US industry. Report chapters: Industry at a Glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Major Companies, Operating Conditions, Key Statistics.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

IDEAS/RePEc Economics and Finance Research Papers
An open-access bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, and books in the field of economics. Users can create an account to save searches and papers, and get alerts about new publications.

NBER Working Papers
NBER researchers working papers analyze the US economy. They are aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government. Nearly 700 NBER Working Papers are published annually. Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization based in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
New York Times Online
NYTimes.com Academic Pass users have access to the New York Times from 1851 to present, plus all multimedia, and to the NYT smartphone app.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Creating an Account
For instructions on how to create a account valid for four years with your UMass email, please visit this guide for step by step instructions.
PolicyFile
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Reports data on employment, wages, inflation, and productivity in the U.S. economy.

Web of Science
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
World Development Indicators Online
World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources - presents the most current and accurate global development data available, including national, regional and global estimates. Coverage from 1960 to present.

Content is freely available for use by all.

All data sources at University of Massachusetts Amherst

BMI Research Experience
Covering 200+ markets and 20+ industries, BMI provides systematic, independent, and data-driven market insights, analysis and forecasts, identifying trends, country risk ratings, and business and political developments across global economies.

Available on campus or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password. Resource requires a umass.edu email address.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) data
Economic data such as GDP, personal income, trade statistics, and inflation.
Eurostat
Statistical office of the European Union, providing economic and demographic data.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
A website of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. FRED provides economic and financial data, including interest rates, GDP, and employment statistics.

GlobalData Explorer
Provides data on U.S. and foreign companies and 20+ industry sectors, SWOT analyses, global trends, product launches, social media analytics, case studies, market research and insights reports.

To access, open the link, then click on the button "IP Access" on the GlobalData login page.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
IBISWorld
US Industry reports - current analysis of every US industry. Report chapters: Industry at a Glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Major Companies, Operating Conditions, Key Statistics.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

ILOSTAT
ILOSTAT is the global labor statistics database maintained by the International Labour Organization (ILO). It provides free access to a wide range of internationally comparable data on labor markets, including employment, unemployment, wages, working hours, labor force participation, and more.

IMPLAN
Extensive economic impact data with analytical applications for researchers, policy makers, regional planners, businesses, and governments.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

IPUMS
IPUMS is a data project that provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Free registration required.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) data
Access to global economic and financial data, including statistics on economic growth, trade, investment, and financial stability.
Massachusetts State Data Center
Official local source of demographic, economic and social statistics produced by the U.S. Census Bureau.
OECD Data Explorer
Organisation for Economic Development Data Portal includes economic, social, and environmental statistics from member and partner countries.

Plunkett Research Online
Market and industry trend analysis for 35 US industry sectors. Includes statistical tables, business intelligence, key industry associations, corporate executive contacts, industry glossary.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Statista
Global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries. Topics include media, business, politics, society, technology, and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Trade Map
Trade Map provides indicators on export performance, international demand, alternative markets and competitive markets, as well as a directory of importing and exporting companies. Expanded data is available with a free account.
World Bank Open Data
Free access to global economic and development data.
World Trade Organization (WTO) data
Data on trade and policy measures.

Last Updated: Oct 24, 2025 11:12 AM
URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/econ
Print Page

Subjects: Business, Economics, Resource Economics

Tags: economics