MGMT 260-05 : Introduction to Law
Gerard O'Connor, Spring 2019
Legal databases
UMass subscription databases
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowLegal encyclopedias, law reviews, and legal treatises; case, statutory, and regulatory law; newspapers and magazines; business data, 1980s-present.
- HeinOnline Core Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes complete coverage beginning with the first volume of more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals, classic legal treatises from the 18th and 19th centuries, and English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867).
- Social Law Library This link opens in a new windowUnique material includes MA administrative agency rulings, Superior Court, Housing Court, and Land Court opinions, as well as the Massachusetts Register. Users can also access Fastcase legal research service, and the Legal Information Reference Center which includes information and forms for patrons of varying legal expertise.
- Subject Compilations of State Laws This link opens in a new windowAn index of articles, books, court opinions, and other publications that compare state laws, with many links to full text. Searchable by subject, 1925-current with a two year lag.
Web resources
- Free Law ProjectA site providing free access to legal resources such as case law and opinions, dockets (via RECAP), oral arguments, and judicial profiles.
- Legal Information Institute (LII)Open access to legal resources such as federal and state legislation and case law, and rules of procedure; WEX legal encyclopedia; subject guides (by area of law); table of popular names of legislation.
- Law: Digital Commons NetworkOpen access academic research in law from top universities in the world. Includes law review articles, working papers, theses, and dissertations.
- Law Review CommonsOpen access database of law review and law journal articles.
