History of Art and Architecture
Guide for research in Art History
Read Publications Online
- Wildenstein Plattner Institute: PublicationsThe WPI’s inaugural publications were the five-volume Jasper Johns: Catalogue Raisonné of Painting and Sculpture and Roberta Bernstein’s accompanying monograph, Jasper Johns: Redo an Eye.Partnering with international presses such as La Bibliothèque des Arts, Taschen, and Skira, the Wildenstein Institute published more than 50 titles on a wide range of French artists, with a strong focus on 18th and 19th-century art.
- Tate: Art TermsTate's online glossary is designed to explain and illuminate some of the art terminology you will find on our website
It contains definitions, most with illustrations, of over 400 terms including artist groups and art movements, techniques, media and other art jargon.
Free images with no restrictions on use!
Many museum and library websites have digital repositories with images of their collections. Many of these objects are in the public domain, meaning there are no copyright restrictions limiting their use and reuse; this applies to the high-resolution images of the objects as well. The sites below allow easy sorting by public domain status.
- Getty Open Content ImagesSearch over 10,000 images from Getty Museum and Research Institute collections made available for download.The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsBrowse and search print, pictorial and audio-visual collections.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art-Open AccessSearch the Met Museum's collection database for high-resolution images of artworks in the public domain, freely available for any use.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsExplore nearly one million items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.Check the "Search only public domain materials" box to limit your search. - Rijksmuseum RijksstudioBrowse, search and download 675,148 images of works of art in the Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam. Create your own Rijksstudio account to collect and save groups of images.
- Smithsonian Open AccessA site where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
- Last Updated: Oct 2, 2024 5:00 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/arthistory
- Print Page
