Researching Countries
Singapore Olympics
Festival of Fruits and Flowers, Ecuador
Mamallapuram, Indian Dance Festival, Bharatanatyam dancers
Introduction
Use the resources below to find more information about regions, topics, world cultures, development indicators, politics, world music, country health profiles, and more.
Research Guides
The Libraries have research guides on many topics. Look at the list to find guides to specific regions or topics, such as Anthropology, African Studies, Latin American Studies, and Visiting Japan.
Library Resources
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Thousands of ethnographies originally published as articles, books and dissertations. Its indexing traces social features across cultures, 1983-present. - World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of archival primary sources and current statistics, articles, reports and more on people, places and topics related to Latin America and the Caribbean. - OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publications of the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Books, reports and data for every OECD country. Coverage from 1998 to present, with data sets back to the 1960s. - World Development Indicators Online This link opens in a new windowWorld Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources - presents the most current and accurate global development data available, including national, regional and global estimates. Coverage from 1960 to present.
- Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system.
Once you're in the database, search for "Political Handbook of the World" to see each chapter.
- Political Parties of the WorldOverview of political system and parties for each country in the world.
- Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tracks from current pop and traditional labels around the world. - Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays, images and audio examples about world music. - Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music from America and elsewhere on the Folkways label. Listen for free and download for a fee. Playlist option available.
Online Resources
- World Health Organization Country ProfilesEach profile page includes a country health profile, plus information about nutrition, risk factors, health service coverage, health systems, mortality and burden of disease.
- European Union (Official Site)Find information about living, working, studying and traveling in the EU; doing business in the EU; and EU documents, statistics and more.
- EurostatOfficial publication of the European Community providing summary data collected through all agencies
- UNESCO World Heritage CentreA wide range of World Heritage publications, from periodicals to brochures and information kits , books, manuals, reports, and a map of World Heritage sites are available in a variety of languages for adults and young people.
