Libraries Ask Us

Building & Construction Technology program

Article Databases

Best databases to find articles

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type: Business journal articles. Description: ABI/INFORM is the library's largest online full-text business journal collection. 3,000 business periodicals - peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, business magazines, 1960 - present, including the Wall Street Journal, 1984 - present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to all 35 journals currently published by the American Society of Civil Engineers, 1995-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Date coverage varies by title; some 1912-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Directory of green builders. Articles, case studies and product listings for sustainable building, green design, and land use. 1992-current. Also: peer-to-peer discussions, blogs, RSS feeds and the online version of Environmental Building News newsletter.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Environmental Resource Handbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Directory of environmental resource organizations, events and statistics.
Section I - Organizations: Associations, conferences and trade shows, foundations and charities, government agencies, national parks and wildlife refuges, publications, research centers and educational programs.
Section II - Statistics: Children’s Environmental Index, municipal finances, toxic chemicals, recycling, climate, air quality, water quality.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Environment Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles on the environment from scientific, legal, and popular journals, 1950s- present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, government, and general-interest articles on climate change, renewable energy, green building, sustainable agriculture, green building, pollution, recycling, education, law, health, and technology. Covers 1973-current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search by topic and/or geography: agriculture, food, energy, pollution, economic development, social factors and in journals, magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias as well as primary sources.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Journals of interest

Sustainability - open access journal - In particular see Special Issues:

The BuildingGreen Report (formerly Environmental Building News, or EBN)
Newsletter with trade news (access through BuildingGreen Suite)
The International Journal of the Constructed Environment
Open-access, peer-reviewed articles from the publisher Common Ground.
Journal of Building Enclosure Design
A publication of the National Institute of Building Sciences and the Building Enclosure Technology and Environment Council
Journal of Building Information Modeling
A publication of the National Institute of Building Sciences and the National BIM Standard

Journal of Green Building
Research from universities, government entities, green building consulting firms, and nonprofits. Both peer-reviewed and general articles.

Research Design Connections
Quarterly e-newsletter; commentary and digest of research about design, with archive

At UMass Amherst

Sustainability resources on campus:

Sustainabl e UMass page - campus initiatives for sustainability education, research, and action.

SustainableUMass archive in Scholarworks - the campus repository

Other library guides:

Environmental Science and Conservation
by Madeleine Charney Last Updated Jul 29, 2024 1288 views this year
Sustainability
by Madeleine Charney Last Updated Apr 3, 2024 563 views this year

Help make this guide better!

Suggestions are very welcome - add to the links here, or tell me how to make this guide more useful. Use the "Comment" feature, email, phone, or talk to me in person!