HIST 450 Trials in European History

ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS

Five College Catalog
Find books, journals, and media collections held by UMass Libraries and the Five Colleges.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.
Content is freely available for use by all.

OTHER RESOURCES

UMass Interlibrary Loan
Obtain a loan of books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
History Department

NEWSPAPERS

The Library subscribes to many historical newspapers in digital format and in microfilm. Consult the Online Catalog in order to determine what the Library has and how to locate the many titles. For example, the Library has electronic versions of African American Newspapers, Latin American Newspapers, Caribbean Newspapers, the Boston Globe, the New York Times, the Washington Post, and many more along with numerous newspapers on microfilm.

GOOGLE Searches

These are highly recommended sites for beginning your research into articles and books on your subject.

LIBRARY DATABASES

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized collections of over 450 British periodicals published between the 17th and early 20th century covering literature, history, science, fine arts and social sciences.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Every significant book or pamphlet printed in the UK, and English-language titles printed in America, between 1701 and 1800.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Academic library partnership providing searching and downloading of public-domain books and specialized services for text mining projects.

Please see more... below for what is available to UMass faculty, staff and students and what is available for community patrons.
For anyone in the world, you can access these materials in HathiTrust:
- Search across the entire collection
- Read and view works that are “full-view”
- Search within works that are “limited (search-only)”
- Download a single page at a time from works that have download restrictions (e.g., works that are in the public domain but were digitized by Google or other vendors with contractual limitations)
- Download an entire work that doesn’t have download restrictions (e.g., works digitized by Internet Archive and other organizations, works that have been opened with a Creative Commons license)
For UMass faculty, staff and students, you can additionally access the following if you log in with your NetID and password using the HathiTrust link above:
- Download public domain works that have download restrictions (see “Can I download a whole book?” for more information);
- Create, save and share public or private collections?;
- Access copyrighted works lawfully in appropriate circumstances (see accessibility and out-of-print and brittle for more information).
Members can not view or download works that are “limited (search-only)”. See “Is it possible to view a volume that is Limited (search-only)?” for more information.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of primary sources and literature, mainly British so far.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
1 million newspaper pages
Newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations
The most comprehensive collection of early English newspapers
Titles from London, British Isles, and colonies