Libraries Ask Us

LGBT Resources

This is a guide to LGBT resources in UMass Libraries and beyond.

Catalogs - Search for Books

UMass - Five College Catalog
Find book, journal and media collections located in the UMass Libraries and Five Colleges.
WorldCat
Combined catalog of most North American and many world libraries.

Archives & Primary Sources

UMass Special Collections & University Archives (SCUA) has several lgbt collections and collections with lgbt content.

These include:

-Gittings-Lahusen Gay Book Collection, ca.1920-2007

-Stonewall Center Records (1984-2008) RG 30/2/6

-Campus lesbian & gay activities prior to the Stonewall Center 1971-1984 RG

-MassEquality Papers MS 674 MS 674

-Boston AIDS Consortium Records (1987-2005) MS 458

-Northampton Domestic Partnership Coalition Collection, 1993-1995, MS 512

-Our Hideaway Collection, 1998-1999, MS 647

-PFLAG Pioneer Valley Records, 1987-1994, MS 397

-Social Change Periodicals Collection, 1969-2006, MS 306

-Valley Women's History Collaborative Records, 1971-2008, MS 531

Book Awards, Reviews & Lists

Stonewall Book Awards
The first and most enduring award for GLBT books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

The Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award, the Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award and the Stonewall Book Award-Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award are presented to English language works published the year prior to the announcement date.
GLBT Round Table Book Reviews
Titles reviewed by members of the ALA (American Library Association) GLBT Round Table
Rainbow Book Lists - Childrens & Young Adult Books
The Rainbow Book List is a joint project of the GLBT Round Table and the Social Responsibilities Round Table of the American Library Association. The Rainbow Book List presents an annual bibliography of quality books with significant and authentic GLBTQ content, which are recommended for people from birth through eighteen years of age.
Over the Rainbow List
Yearly listing of recommended lgbtq books for adults, comprised by the ALA GLBT RT.
Lambda Literary Foundation
Monthly online newsletter with reviews
Lambda Literary Foundation Book Awards
The Lambda Literary Awards identify and honor the best lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender books in their year of publication and are given out at an annual ceremony.