Libraries Ask Us

History of the Book and Printing

Library Databases

Requires UMass authentication

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, essays and book reviews that make up the research literature of all major religious faiths and denominations, 1949-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history from 1975-2007.
Content is freely available for use by all.
Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, books and book chapters in all European languages, on medieval studies. Citations 1967-present on the historical period 400-1500.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Literature Online Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
350,000 literary works in English: British and American poetry, drama and prose, plus some journals and literature reference sources.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s -
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Online Reference Resources

Requires UMass authentication

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The 125,000 earliest books published in English, as listed in Short Title Catalogs of Pollard & Redgrave (Ref Z 2002 P77) and Wing (Ref Z 2002 U587), 1475-1700.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Europe, 1450-1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
In Gale Virtual Reference Library, Choose HISTORY and then this title from the History list.
Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students
In Gale Virtual Reference Library, Choose HISTORY and then this title from the History list.