History 325: World War I

Art Abstracts
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1984-present.

Art Index Retrospective
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history, 1973-present.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Articles on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Date coverage varies by title; some 1912-present.

Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

Humanities International Complete
Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A bibliography of scholarly publications on the Middle Ages and Renaissance; the ITER Italia manuscript catalog; and three journals. Covers the period 400-1700; citations date back to 1784.

MLA International Bibliography
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920’s -

Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.

America: History & Life
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.

Project Muse
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

Humanities International Complete
Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.

Historical New York Times
The entire New York Times, searchable, in image files, from 1851 to three years ago.

Historical Boston Globe
The entire Boston Globe, searchable, in image files, 1872-1979.

Readers' Guide Abstracts
Citations to articles in 600 popular U.S. magazines, 1890-1982.

The last three databases allow students to access news stories from the time of the Great War as events in Europe were reported in American magazines and newspapers of the period.

The principle subject heading in the Five Colleges Library Catalog for World War I is

World War, 1914-1918.  Under this "main heading" are over a thousand subheadings!

UMA WorldCat also has thousands of books, articles, websites, films, art, etc. on the Russian Revolution. Use Interlibrary Loan to have these materials brought here for your papers.

Online resource:

Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction, 2006.

The following materials are shelved in the Reference Collection, Learning Commons level:

The Encyclopedia of World War I: A Political, Social, and Military History.
D510.E532005 5v.

The library has a collection of old magazines, from the Great War period, on the eighth floor. Mass-market titles such as Collier's, Harper's Weekly, and The Atlantic Monthly were enormously popular, and give insight into the mood at home as America edged towards war.

The library also has long, wartime runs of The Spectator and The Illustrated London News, from the UK.