History 497/697: History of Popular Science
primary and secondary sources for a historical study of popular science
e-books
The Library has a subscription to Springer e-books. There are many current (2010 imprints) books on topics relating to popular science.
Newspapers
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
- Massachusetts NewsBank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts Daily Newspapers: Amherst Bulletin, Daily Hampshire Gazette, Springfield Republican, Greenfield Recorder, Valley Advocate, and five more Massachusetts city newspapers. 1990's to present.
Articles
- General Science Collectioncoverage: 1980-2011
A custom collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments -- including such topics as particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology.
There are a number of thematic databases in the Gale series that might be helpful to you. To see the full list click here. See a few of the databases below.
- Gale Science in ContextGale's authoritative reference content [is merged] with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- Popular Magazines CollectionCoverage:1980-2011.
This database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries". Titles like Consumer Reports, Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, US News and World Report, Vogue, Fortune, Business Week, National Review, Cosmopolitan, NPR ... - Science OnlinePresents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
**You need to have a public library card to use this database.
