Intro to Permaculture Design (StockSchool 197G)

Demonstrates and promotes practical, affordable solutions to the environmental challenges encountered in our daily activities.

Based in Ashfield, MA, a democratic, community-based system that supports and empowers ordinary people to put an end to war, poverty, hunger, unemployment and global warming, before it is too late. This is not just another bank with a social mission. This is a social mission with a bank!

Facilitates a network of mutual support and collaboration that sustains and strengthens a dynamic creative community -- "C3 is a reflection of you, it is a collection of opportunities to meet, see, support, share resources, learn from and contribute to the direction of your community."

Strengthens local agriculture by building connections between farmers and the community.

Every other Tuesday 6:30-7:30pm. WXOJ-LP, 103.3fm, Valley Free Radio. Live audiostream: www.valleyfreeradio.org

Directory of locations, hours, etc.

Greenfield Recorder publication

Products and services for vegetable fuel system vehicles. Based in Holyoke MA.

Headquartered in Brattelboro, VT but covers much of the Pioneer Valley.

Local database

A group of neighbors and volunteers working to preserve and enhance the quality of life and rural character of communities in western Massachusetts.

Fosters a greater awareness and understanding of our natural world and to develop environmentally literate citizens. Offers natural history programs for people of all ages and backgrounds.

JFN was created to share resources and ideas related to global climate change impacts on food; the effect of Peak Oil on food; the threat of Global Pandemic. We also consider how to "grow food justly” at home; on nearby farms; and in the global marketplace.

Free local guide to socially responsible businesses, including green products and services, recycling, organic and fair trade foods, solar energy, hybrid cars, biodegradable products, and cooperative business practices.

Promotes small farm development by providing information and training for aspiring, beginning and transitioning farmers.

Promotes the conservation of temperate North American flora through education, research, horticulture, habitat preservation, and advocacy. Owner of Nasami Farm in Whately, MA.

Non profit organization of nearly 4,000 farmers, gardeners, and consumers working to promote healthy food, organic farming practices and a cleaner environment. Information about conferences, workshops, farm tours and printed materials to educate farmers, gardeners, consumers and land care professionals.

A regional network of member organizations and individuals working together to create a more sustainable and secure regional food system -- one that is economically viable, environmentally sound and socially just and produces safe and healthful food. We w

The nation's leading regional membership organization promoting sustainable energy through a growing network of professionals and sustainable energy advocates committed to responsible energy.

A grass-roots organization that promotes economic, human and community development in Holyoke, Massachusetts through projects relating to food, agriculture and the environment.

Regional permaculture and sustainability organization in the northeast United States

Works with local, independent businesses to help them do more local purchasing.

Regional planning body for the Pioneer Valley region, which encompasses 43 cities and towns in the Hampden and Hampshire county areas. Increases communication, cooperation, and coordination among government agencies as well as private and civic sectors.

A broad-based network that builds mutually beneficial partnerships to promote a sustainable, just, regenerative future for our region. We bring our vision into being through collaborative support and action on specific projects in service to our community

Worker-owned business providing turnkey renewable energy system installations at homes, businesses, municipalities and institutions.

Innovative ridesharing program
in the Pioneer Valley -- and beyond!

Member-owned natural food cooperative located in Northampton, MA. Open to all.

Weekly radio show covering the shifts to social, environmental, and economic sustainability. Nationally syndicated and podcast globally.

A nonprofit organization that provides people of all ages with the inspiration and practical tools to use renewable energy and grow food in their communities. Based at Seeds of Solidarity Farm which runs on alternative energy.

Intentional community in Shutesbury, MA which focuses on ecology and spirituality.

Located at the Creamery, open to the public 8am to 6pm every day. Read attached article

A group of Northampton-based activists, artists and speakers traveling on a full sized school bus running on waste vegetable oil. They use art, performance, and media to increase public awareness about the connections between dietary choice, personal health, cultural ethics, and globally sustainable ecology.

Present viewers with news and information related to living a more sustainable lifestyle. Hear ideas and opinions from local experts and educators all working in the energy field.

Premier publication offering information that enables people everywhere to provide for their own & their communities' needs for food, energy, shelter, & a decent life without exploitation or pollution & from the smallest practical area of land.

U.S. and Canada

Information on Courses/Workshops, Demonstration Sites, Education Centers, Soil Erosion & Contamination, Surveying, Swales, Terraces, Water, Water Contamination, Water Harvesting

Directory

Develops projects in all climactic and geographic zones

Discussions with searchable archives

Published in the UK, this publication keeps you in touch with the cutting edge of the sustainability movement and every issue brings you the best ideas, advice and inspiration from people who are actually creating a better world.

Interactive database showcasing solutions-based work implemented by permaculture projects and practitioners worldwide.