david mac court
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
Massachusetts Social Service Departments
- Department of Children and FamiliesThe Department of Children and Families (DCF) is charged with protecting children from abuse and neglect and strengthening families.
- Department of Developmental ServicesThe Department of Developmental Services (DDS) is dedicated to creating innovative and genuine opportunities for individuals with intellectual disabilities.
- Department of Elementary and Secondary EducationThe Department of Elementary and Secondary Education licenses teachers, school personnel, and administers the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS). It also compiles data and creates profiles about public schools in Massachusetts.
- Department of Mental HealthThe Department of Mental Health (DMH) assures and provides access to services and supports to meet the mental health needs of individuals of all ages.
- Child Welfare League of AmericaInformation on legislation and issues of interest to CWLA membership
- General Accountability Office (GAO)Provides both summaries and full-text files of reports and testimony dating back to fiscal year 1979. GAO posts full-text files on its web site daily, often within 24 hours of when a report or testimony is publicly released
- Public Agenda OnlinePublic Agenda is a nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education organization, focusing on "school and health care reform, national security, AIDS, crime, economic competitiveness and the environment" in well-balanced reports and research studies.
- Small Area Income and Poverty EstimatesState-level estimates of poverty, from the Census Bureau
Social Work Organizations
- American Board of Examiners in Clinical Social Work (ABE)Issues the Board Certified Diplomate in Clinical Social Work (the BCD) to advanced clinical social workers. Their site has a directory of BCD social workers and information about a scholarship program for students.
- Association for Community Organization and Social AdministrationProvides links to online syllabi, conference information, jobs, publications and resources on electronic advocacy.
- Association for the Advancement of Social Work with Groups (AASWG)Site provides syllabi (teaching resources), standards for practice, and information on conferences.
- Association of Oncology Social WorkSite provides member and conference information, and good cancer web site links.
- Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB)Social work licensing and examination information, including contact information for state social work boards.
- Council on Social Work Education (CSWE)Accreditation for social work programs and other social work education support, such as fellowships.
- Information for PracticeAn information alerting site whose mission is to "help social service professionals throughout the world conveniently maintain an awareness of news regarding the profession and emerging scholarship."
- International Federation of Social WorkersOrganization newsletter is available online, plus some policy papers.
- Latino Social Workers OrganizationIncludes a job bank and some legislative policy updates.
- National Association of Social Workers (NASW)Professional organization for social workers with information on advocacy activities, practice issues, credentials, job openings, and continuing education. See also, the NASW-Michigan Chapter web site at http://www.nasw-michigan.org/.
- NASW Code of EthicsThe full text of code.
- North American Association of Christian Social Workers (NACSW)Conference and job information, plus member-only chatrooms.
- School Social Work Association of American (SSWAA)Membership information, including conferences, newsletters, and a directory of state departments of education.
- America's ChildrenAn annual report prepared by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics.
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsStatistics about crimes and victims, criminal offenders, and the justice system.
- Census 2000 Gateway2000 census statistics gateway site (see American FactFinder). Includes links to 1990 census data.
- Child Trends DatabankTracking 70 indicators of child well-being, this site provides the latest trends in the categories of health, social/emotional development, income and work, education, demographics, and family/community.
- Fast Stats A to ZBrowse health and general demographic statistics on all sorts of topics, such as alcohol use, divorce, and mental health . You can also look at some statistics by state. Each topic begins with a summary of relevant statistics, but there are also links to more detailed tables.
- National Criminal Justice Reference ServiceInformation on national and international criminal justice issues, including juvenile justice and crime prevention, with links to the NCJRS Abstracts Database.
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics, 2002 (30th edition)The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics 2001 brings together data about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States presented in over 600 tables from more than 100 sources. Organized into 6 topical sections, from nature of offenses and characteristics of persons arrested to jail populations and public attitudes toward crime and criminal justice.
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics Country ProfilesStatistics for education and literacy, science and technology, and culture and communication, from various countries, collected by UNESCO's Institute for Statistics.
- US Census BureauSocial, demographic, and economic information and statistics.
- Last Updated: Jul 25, 2017 1:45 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/social_work
- Print Page
Subjects: Social Work