Anthropology
Guide for Library Research in Anthropology
Librarian for Anthropology
eHRAF Tutorials
eHRAF Help
For help using eHRAF databases, check out these resources:
Welcome to the Anthropology Research Guide
There are many ways to conduct research in anthropology. This guide will show you how to get started finding books, journal articles, and other types of data.
Questions?
Need help quickly? Head over to the Ask Us page and submit your question as a message or start a chat with a librarian Monday - Friday 9 - 5 pm.
You can also email your Anthropology Librarian for help. I'm here to discuss your research over email or we can set up a research consultation in-person or via Zoom. If you aren't sure what to do next, please don't hesitate to reach out!
Anthropology Research Best Bets
All Anthropology Subfields
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowJournal articles and other scholarly literature of anthropology including its subfields, archaeology, linguistic anthropology, cultural, and biological anthropology, from the 1800s to present.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowThis database contains articles from 32 journals published by the American Anthropological Association between the 1800s and today. This is a relatively small database, so searches on more specific topics will provide a limited number of results.
- JSTOR: Anthropology80+ anthropology journals published between the 1800s and present.
Archaeology
- eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new windowThis database contains archaeology books, journal articles, and dissertations describing prehistoric life and archaeological sites across the world published between 1983 and today. Check out the tutorials on the left for help finding what you need.
- JSTOR: Archaeology100+ archaeology journals published between the 1800s and present.
Biological Anthropology
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowStart here for research on human subjects. This is the National Library of Medicine's database of citations to medical journal articles with links to UMass full-text options whenever possible. 1946-present.
Cultural Anthropology
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowThis database contains thousands of ethnographies originally published as articles, books, and dissertations from 1983 to today. Its indexing feature lets you trace social features across cultures. Check out the tutorials on the left for help finding what you need.
Linguistic Anthropology
- Linguistics Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts for articles in the scholarly journals of linguistics, 1985-present.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - LLBA This link opens in a new windowIndexes the scholarly literature of linguistics and related fields from 1994 to present.
