Anthropology

Library Research Guide to Anthropology 775 /

Public Policy & Administration  636:

Anthropological Research Methods / Qualitative Research Methods for Public Policy and Administration:

Library Transformations

Anthropology

• Anthropology Plus
  Provides citations, abstracts and full text of articles from several hundred sources, including scholarly journals in communication, interpersonal communication, mass media, and journalism journals, plus articles on communication published in the journals of other disciplines, and mass media trade journals. Includes coverage of the journals Human Organization, Practicing Anthropology, .
• AnthroSource
  The full text of the 32 journals published by the American Anthropological Association, some dating back to the nineteenth century.

Public Policy​

• International Political Science Abstracts
  Articles in the field of political science (including the sub-fields of public administration, political theory and international relations) published in journals (and yearbooks) all over the world.
• PAIS International
  Citations and abstracts for articles, books and book chapters, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports and other materials relating to public and social policy published in Western European languages. 1970-
• PolicyFile
  Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.

Related Disciplines and Interdisciplinary

• Academic Search Premier
  Citations, abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to social sciences, humanities, education,physical, and biological sciences. 
• ERIC
  Education journal articles and documents
• Google Scholar
  This instance of Google Scholar is linked to library resources and services. 
• GreenFILE
  Scholarly journal and magazine articles on the environment and sustainability in building, agriculture and energy
• Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts
  Indexes library science journals

• Sociological Abstracts
  References to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and conference papers on sociology and related disciplines

• Web of Science
  Covers almost all English-language scholarly journals. Provides a means of tracing where an article is cited, as well as topic and author searching. 

Use a citation manager, such as Zotero or RefWorks to keep track of your research.

Note: In Zotero, you can configure the equivalent of UMLinks by adding the UMass Open URL resolver in your Preferences. Go to Advanced and type http://sfxhosted.exlibrisgroup.com/umass for your resolver: 

More on using Zotero...

Use your Interlibrary Loan account to:

• Borrow books, videos, and other materials not available in the Five College system.
• Request electronic copies of articles and book chapters not available at UMass.
• In databases, use the button to  taken directly to Interlibrary Loan, so you can order articles if UMass does not have them. In Zotero, you can configure the equivalent by adding the UMass Open URL resolver in your Preferences. Go to Advanced and type http://sfxhosted.exlibrisgroup.com/umass for your resolver: 

What articles are prominent in my field?
2-minute video on using "Web of Science" to find highly-cited articles.

Evaluate Library Guide and/or Class

Please take a few minutes to fill out this anonymous evaluation form. You can help improve the quality of instruction by letting us know what you liked, what might be improved and what you would like to see in the future.