Music
Database trials
- African American Music Reference This link opens in a new windowBrings together text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database is constantly expanding to include comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
The UMass Library has a trial subscription to the African American Music Reference database. The trial will continue through November 9, 2008.
UMass Library Jazz Research Links
- Afro American Studies databasesThis is a subset of the "Cultural and area studies" database list.
In addition to Music databases and the Library catalog, these resources of the UMass Library are useful for jazz research:
- Historical Boston Globe This link opens in a new windowMassachusetts' newspaper of record, 1872-1989. Additional content is added yearly.
Users must limit their search to "full text" on the left side of the screen to make sure they only get results that include the Full Text. Without the limiter, the "abstracts" will be indexed as well. - Historical Chicago Defender This link opens in a new windowInfluential black weekly newspaper, searchable, in image files, 1905-1975.
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new windowThe entire New York Times, searchable, in PDF format, from 1851 to three years ago.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCore scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Jazz Research Links
- Library of Congress - Performing Arts EncyclopediaDigital library of music, theater, and dance at the Library of Congress.
