Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries

Comparative Literature

.

Literary Texts

ARTFL
More than 2,000 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of nonfiction prose and technical writing, from the twelfth  to the nineteenth centuries. 

Black Women Writers 
A growing collection of literary works by about 77 African, African American, and Afro-Caribbean women.

CHANT (Chinese Ancient Texts)
Chant is a project of the Institute of Chinese Studies which reprints all extant Chinese texts up until the sixth century AD.

Early English Books Online
Reproductions of the 125,000 earliest books published in English, from the titles in the Short Title Catalogs of Pollard & Redgrave (Ref Z 2002 P77) and Wing (Ref Z 2002 U587).

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.

FRANCIS
an index of primarily Francophone material. It covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, and economics, including religion, the history of art, psychology, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. The database consists of bibliographic records for serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports.

Library of Latin Texts
Digital version of the majority of extant Latin texts, searchable by author, word(s) in text, period, and more.

Literature Online (LION)
About 350,000 literary works in English: British and American poetry, drama and prose, plus some journals and literature reference sources.

Women Writers Project
Online versions of literary works by women writers, mainly from the nineteenth century.