Veterinary and Animal Sciences

Dr. Nancy S. Loving, noted equine veterinarian and dressage, event, and distance riding competitor, addresses the singularly challenging needs of keeping the working horse in working order. With chapters devoted to cardiovascular, respiratory, neurological, digestive, and reproductive health, as well to the hooves, bones, joints, tendons and ligaments, muscles, and skin, Dr. Loving provides a thorough understanding of the intricacies of the equine body.

Breed Predispositions to Disease in Dogs and Cats, Third Edition provides a comprehensive exploration of current knowledge of breed predispositions based on rigorous examination of primary research.  Incorporates the latest research, new testing methods, and newly-discovered predispositions and diseases Provides expanded information on genetics, epidemiology, and longevity Includes key characteristics of diseases, including pathogenesis, genetics, risks, and common presentations Indexes dogs and cats by breed, with listings of common inherited and predisposed disorders organized by body system Includes absolute and relative frequency/occurrence data for conditions, along with references to further information  

Provides information on the history, colors, size, characteristics, and uses of more than one hundred breeds, and describes the standard practices of horse breeding.

From the large-tailed Karakul sheep to the floppy-eared Gloucestershire Old Spot pig, North America is home to an extraordinary array of livestock. Comprehensive, colorful, and captivating, Storey's Illustrated Breed Guide to Sheep, Goats, Cattle, and Pigs features full-color profiles of 163 livestock breeds. Whether you're looking for a gentle domestic backyard animal or are hoping to introduce a rare heritage breed on your farm, you're sure to find an animal that's perfect for your needs.

Whether you own cats, dogs, rabbits, chickens, horses, cattle, sheep, goats, pigs, or a combination of animals, you need expert information to make sure your animal friends stay happy and healthy. From nail care for dogs to treating saddle sores on horses to incubating turkey eggs, Veterinary Guide for Animal Owners, 2nd Edition offers advice in easy-to-understand language. With this comprehensive book, learn how to: Provide first aid for cattle Vaccinate sheep Treat a colicky horse Breed chickens Care for bunnies Treat a diabetic dog Help a cat with diarrhea And much more! Whether you are a 4H student, a home breeder raising chickens, the manager of a small farm, or the owner of a new puppy, this book--chock-full of strategies for preventing and curing common problems--is for you. Authors C. E. Spaulding and Jackie Clay also include a guide to choosing the right veterinarian, a glossary of commonly used terms, and a recommended reading list, making this a perfect no-nonsense companion for any animal owner.

The new 10th edition of this well-respected reference includes thoroughly revised and reviewed information with content on new diseases for the most up-to-date information on diseases effecting sheep, pigs, goats, horses, and cattle. Divided into two sections, General Medicine and Special Medicine, the book covers topics ranging from the clinical examination and manifestation of disease in organ systems to specific diseases of the large animal species.

For a happy relationship with your cat, go beyond the looks and make your pick based on demonstrated breed behavior. This is the advice of the Harts, two experts in animal communication and behavior, whose new book takes the process of selecting a cat to the next level by offering data-based behavioral profiles of a wide range of cat breeds. Developed over a lifetime of research and through extensive interviews with eighty veterinary experts, the profiles are presented in easy-to-use graphical form. A history of the development of different breeds is presented, and then breed-specific differences across a range of variables are discussed.

Authored by a renowned animal scientist with a peerless reputation in organic livestock nutrition, A Practical Guide to the Feeding of Organic Farm Animals aims to translate the science of feeding organic livestock and distil it into practical guidance for farmers and producers.The latest research is broken down into a practical approach to on-the-farm feeding, providing applied methodology backed up by scientific research. There is also advice on making the transition from conventional to organic farming systems regarding feeding.There are sections covering poultry, pigs, cattle, sheep and goats, reviewing the nutritional requirements of the species, identifying suitable ingredients and feeds, overviewing husbandry techniques and system approaches, providing advice on selecting suitable breeds, and advising on nutrition and its relationship to health with a preventative approach.The final section provides advice on organic nutritional regimes under integrated farming operations making this book an ideal resource for the smallholder farmer as well as traditional and aspiring organic livestock farmers.