Public Policy and Administration
Use this guide to find information and research on topics in the field of public policy and administration
What are NGOs?
Non-governmental organizations are generally non-profit groups not affiliated with any government operating locally, nationally, and/or internationally.
NGOs often publish reports and statistics, which are available for free on their web sites, that may be of interest to researchers.
These groups vary widely in their goals and structures, but most have the objective of influencing public policy. Be sure to take this into consideration when evaluating their material.
Nonprofit Research
Nonprofit / Philanthropic databases
- Catalog of Nonprofit LiteratureA "database of the literature of philanthropy." Includes 30,000+ entries.
- Political Science DatabasesPolitical science literature may cover the roles of nonprofits and the philanthropic sector in society. Try these political science databases: (1) PAIS International - Public and social policy literature in political science, international relations, social sciences. Articles, government documents, reports, 1915-. (2) Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. The international scholarly literature of political science, including articles, books, chapters, and reports, 1975-present.; and (3) ProQuest Political Science. Full text political science periodical articles; varying dates.
- Business Management DatabasesBusiness Management Databases cover nonprofit organization, as well as the nonprofit sector of industry reports and analyses. For more business-focused content, consider ABI/Inform Complete and Business Source Premier.
Comprehensive Lists of NGOs
- Europa World This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current.
