English Language and Literature
Humanities Research Services Librarian
Spring 2023 walk-in office hours: Tuesdays only, 3:30-5pm, in South College E448. Status: [IN] for March 21, 2023
Subjects: English, Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies
- Obtain a loan book from libraries within and outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
- The official, student-run undergraduate literary journal of the English Department, has recently published a new edition on June 2022.Jabberwocky is the official, student-run undergraduate literary journal of the English Department. With a publication each spring, Jabberwocky showcases the creativity and talent of writers, poets, and artists UMass Amherst has to offer! All UMass undergraduates are encouraged to submit their work. Students can add being published in Jabberwocky to their resume.
ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS
- Discovery Search This link opens in a new windowFind articles across a large number of library resources with just one search! Begin your generalized research here.Free to use for anyone to find records. Some results, and detailed information such as PDFs and full text links, are available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowThe combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.Content is freely available for use by all.
SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES
- Purdue Online Writing LabUniversity of Purdue's Online Writing Lab's guidelines for writing and citing papers in MLA format.
- Internet ArchiveConsult especially the Texts section which contains main literary texts in electronic format.
- Adelphi Theatre CalendarRecord of dramatic performances at a leading Victorian theatre, 1806-1900.
- HathiTrust Digital Library"... a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world."
- Internet Public LibraryContains subject collections in the arts and humanities.
- Penn SoundOngoing project committed to producing new audio recordings and preserving existing audio archives chiefly of authors reading their literary works.
- Read PrintFree online books library for students, teachers, and the classic enthusiast.
- Victorian Women Writers ProjectThe Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.
- Voice of the Shuttle: Literature (in English)Portal to numerous internet sites pertaining to English literature.
- Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875A collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875.
WEBSITES TO VISIT
These helpful websites are free to anyone on the internet.
- Arts and Letters DailyA collection of essays and articles about art and culture, especially literature.
- Emory Women Writers Resource ProjectThis site is home to a collection of women's writing from the 17th through the 20th century.
- The Cambridge History of English and American LiteratureAn online, open-access version of this encyclopedia, which provides introductory information about literature, writers, and movements.
- The Poetry FoundationLearn more about poets and poetry, especially current news and pieces.
- Voices from the GapThe University of Minnesota's site that features women writers of color.
Book and Publishing History
- ResourcesIf you are doing research in this area and would like some useful suggestions, consult this subject guide provided by Jennifer Dorner of the University of California Berkeley. Remember that we may not have all of the resources she mentions, but this is a very good starting spot just the same.
- Last Updated: Mar 15, 2023 2:02 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/english
- Print Page
Subjects: English, Film Studies, Theater