Political Science Research Guide
Use this guide to find information and research on topics in the field of political science
A Word about Wikipedia
Wikipedia is a popular source of information on the web and for good reason—it’s extensive and often extremely current. However, because anyone can edit Wikipedia pages, they are not always reliable and most instructors will not want you to use them as references in your assignments.
Online Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, Yearbooks, etc.
- Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The classic general encyclopedia, constantly updated. A good starting point for all kinds of research.
Reference sources can often provide you with an overview, background information and history of a topic.
Political Encyclopedia of U. S. States and Regions by Call Number: E-Book JK2408 .P65 2009ISBN: 9781604266870Publication Date: 2008-01-01Covers roles and functions of state government, with regional overviews.
- Congress A-ZEncyclopedia providing entries ranging from short definitions to a series of core essays exploring the legislative process, the seniority system, the committee system, the budget process, and other broad areas.
- Europa World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current. - Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of several hundred current subject encyclopedias. - International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia essays, with bibliographies, from experts on all aspects of the social sciences. Current. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Entries from over 100 Oxford University Press subject and language dictionaries, guides, and concise companions.
