Molecular and Cellular Biology

Reaxys
Organic, organo-metallic, and inorganic chemistry data. Searchable by structure, substructure, reaction, text, and property data. also known as Beilstein, Gmelin, or Patent Chemistry Database.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Research methods for microbiology, genetics, bioinformatics, proteins, plant biology, neuroscience, lab organisms, and imaging. Current.

Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
Systematically updated, with links to the primary literature.

SciFinder Scholar,
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases of chemistry and related scientific fields. Mid 1800's -

Use this link for off-campus access. Once you get to the site, register with UMass Amherst email account. Doesn't work with IE 6.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Online version of the comprehensive, lavishly illustrated zoology encyclopedia.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of several hundred current subject encyclopedias.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Frequently updated, with signed articles which have an emphasis on cell and molecular biology and its relevance to medicine.

A Dictionary of Biology
Oxford University Press, 2008 Permalink
Science and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QH302.5 .D54 2008
Short definitions with some line drawings.

Collins Web-linked dictionary of biology, by W.G. Hale, V.A. Saunders & J.P. Margham.
HarperCollins, 2006, c2005. Permalink
Science and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QH302.5 .H34 200
Emphasis on cellular and evolutionary biology. The appendix with links to Internet resources is outdated, but the main material is very useful.

The Cambridge Dictionary of human biology and evolution, by Larry L. Mai, Marcus Young Owl, M. Patricia Kerstin
Cambridge University Press, 2005 Permalink
Science and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref QP34.5 .M24 2005

Encyclopedia of evolution, by Stanley A. Rice
Facts On File, c2007 Permalink
Science and Engineering Library, Call no. Ref  QH360.2 .R53 2007