The Literature of Ireland

A Guide to Irish Studies Resources

ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS

Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Find articles across a large number of library resources with just one search! Begin your generalized research here.
Free to use for anyone to find records. Some results, and detailed information such as PDFs and full text links, are available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.
Content is freely available for use by all.

UMass Interlibrary Loan
Obtain a loan of books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
History Department
Boston Public Library
FOR MORE HISTORICAL DATABASES - GET A FREE eCARD FROM THE BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY

more...less...
The Boston Public Library (BPL) and the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) offer all Massachusetts residents remote access to proprietary databases. This includes historical newspapers, government information, and geneaology sources.

CELT - Corpus of Electronic Texts
A Digital Humanities Resource for Irish history, literature and politics.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s -
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large collection of literature reference material, including criticism and author biographies.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reviews from magazines and journals, 1914-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

The Irish Times (1859-2015)
This full-text database is available through the Boston Public Library. If you already have a card, you are ready to use it; if not, you can register for one through the link above and thus gain access to this resource.

Historical Newspapers
Other historical newspapers, chiefly from the United States, can be found listed here.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.