Libraries Ask Us

History 242H: The American Family in Historical Perspective

ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS

Five Colleges Archives and Manuscript Collections This link opens in a new window
Explore unique digital collections from Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, and Smith colleges.
Content is freely available for use by all.

Five College Catalog
Find books, journals, and media collections held by UMass Libraries and the Five Colleges.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.
Content is freely available for use by all.

OTHER RESOURCES

History Department
UMass Interlibrary Loan
Borrow books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
Boston Public Library
FOR MORE HISTORICAL DATABASES - GET A FREE eCARD FROM THE BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY

more...less...
The Boston Public Library (BPL) and the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) offer all Massachusetts residents remote access to proprietary databases. This includes historical newspapers, government information, and geneaology sources.

LIBRARY DATABASES

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines and scholarly journals concerning masculinity, feminism, homosexuality, and gender roles, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Kanopy Films
Streaming video of films depicting North America.

LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing for more than 1,500 major law reviews, legal newspapers, Bar Association journals and international legal journals, including more than 250 titles in full text.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source material for life as it was lived by 1,325 women in North America, 1675-1950.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ProQuest Political Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text political science periodical articles. Dates vary by title.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and conference papers on sociology and related disciplines, 1960-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

ONLINE REFERENCE SOURCES

American decades primary sources by Cynthia Rose (Editor)
Call Number: UMass Reference E-Book E740.5
Publication Date: 2004
E-Book

American Factfinder This link opens in a new window
American FactFinder has been discontinued. This link will go to Data.gov, where the same information is available.
Content is freely available for use by all.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Dictionary of American history by Stanley I. Kutler (Editor)
Call Number: UMass Reference E-Book E174
Publication Date: 2003
E-Book

Historical Newspaper: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of The New York Times, with coverage from 1851 to three years ago.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics gathered by the Census Bureau, with scholarly editing and essays, from colonial times to near present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Oxford Companion to United States History

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics from U.S. agencies on population, society, trade, the government, and much more, 2013-present. This for-profit version continues Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1878-2012.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

SELECTED INTERNET RESOURCES

American Memory This link opens in a new window
Large collection of reproductions of primary source material from U.S. Library of Congress: pictures, pamphlets and recordings. Earliest dates from 1400s.
Content is freely available for use by all.

Center for History and New Media
List of links to digital libraries and archives on topics in U.S. history.
more...less...
From the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, Department of History and Art History, George Mason University
Historical Census Browser
Interactive website of U.S. state and county census information; allows users to manipulate data, including producing tables and maps of selected data.
more...less...
From the University of Virginia's Geospatial and Statistical Data Center. The data and terminology are drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing.
Immigration History Research Center
List of links to documents related to U.S. immigration and refugee life, and research on international migration, including personal papers of immigrants and others in their community, government records, publications and other research.
more...less...
From the Immigration Research History Center at the University of Minnesota.
Picturing History
List of links to visual resources gathered by scholars of American history and visual culture.
more...less...
From the American Social History Project / Center for Media and Learning, The Graduate Center, City University of New York.
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
Primary sources in American history from 1493 onwards, including more than 60,000 letters, diaries, maps, pamphlets, printed books, newspapers, photographs, and ephemera.
more...less...
From the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History at the New-York Historical Society, which is purported to be one of the nation’s great archives in the Revolutionary, early national, antebellum, and Civil War periods.
USHistory.org
U.S. History, pre-Columbian to the new millennium
more...less...
From the Independence Hall Association in Philadelphia.