- Stonewall Center Records - RG 30/2/6
Founded in 1985 as the Program for Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual Concerns, the Stonewall Center has provided the campus and surrounding community with cultural and educational programming through speakers, films, video and book library, Speakers Bureau on LGBTQ issues, referrals and support, advocacy and community outreach.
The records of the Stonewall Center include documentation of day to day operations, including phone logs, memos, and budget information, as well as posters and press releases for events, publications, campus and external reports, training manuals, surveys, newspaper clippings, and ephemera such as banners, tee-shirts, and buttons.
- MassEquality - MS 674
The MassEquality Records document the origins, operations, and activism of one of the leading organizations in New England advocating for marriage rights and civic equality for all, regardless of sexual orientation. The collection includes some material generated by the Freedom to Marry Coalition, a partner in the coalition, and a series of large banners and posters, some of which were displayed during the event celebrating the arrival of marriage equality in Massachusetts
- Boston AIDS Consortium Records, 1991-2005
In the fall 1987, a working group was formed in Boston to help coordinate planning for HIV-related services, prevention, and education. The Boston AIDS Consortium began operations the following January with the goal of ensuring effective services for people affected by HIV/AIDS and enabling them to live healthy and productive lives. In its eighteen year existence, the Consortium worked with over seventy public and private agencies and two hundred individuals.
The Records of the Boston AIDS Consortium provide valuable insight into community-based mobilization in response to the AIDS epidemic.
- Gittings-Lahusen Gay Book Collection, ca.1920-2007
The Gittings-Lahusen Gay Book Collection contains nearly 1,000 books on the gay experience in America collected by Gittings and Lahusen throughout their career. The contents range from a long run of The Ladder, the DOB magazine co-edited by the couple, to works on the psychology and sociology of homosexuality, works on religious and political issues, novels and histories by gay authors, and examples of the pulp fiction of the 1950s and 1960s.
- Other Collections with LGBTQ Content
There are a number of collections with LGBTQ content.
- Massachusetts Daily Collegian
The Massachusetts Daily Collegian, successor to the College Signal, began as a weekly student newspaper in 1914. In 1951 it moved to semi-weekly publication and then to three-times-weekly in 1957. In 1967 it became a daily newspaper, changing its title slightly to the Massachusetts Daily Collegian. From the early 1930s to the late 1940s, Professor Maxwell Goldberg guided the Collegian staff as faculty advisor, however today, the paper operates without a faculty advisor as a financially independent agency funded by advertisement monies.
The Collegian has been digitized by academic year, which at different times began in either September or October and ended in May or June. The Collegian also occasionally published a summer edition or issue.
Digital files are hosted on the Internet Archive.
- UMass Student Yearbook - The Index
Beginning in 1867, the students of MAC and its successor institutions issued a yearbook known as the Index, documenting their time at school. For most of the first half-century of the school, the Index was compiled by members of the junior class and contained “communications” from each class along with complete lists of students and student organizations, faculty, and officers of the college, along with occasionally humorous vignettes of life on campus. The Index was only one of a trio of books that students kept during the nineteenth century to remember their times of campus, along with “M Books” (personalized scrapbooks) and class-issued photographic albums containing images of classmates, faculty, and campus.
Beginning with images of the faculty, class portraits, and images of sports teams and campus views, the yearbook expanded by 1912 to include photographs of each member of the junior class, and eventually, the senior class as well. The Index ceased publication in 20
- Social Change Periodicals Collection
This collection includes a variety of LGBTQ publications, including 'Newsletters of the Sunshine Club' (1995-2006) a transgender support, social and educational organization,Fag Rag (1969-1987), Gay Community News (1990-1991).