This is the "Home" page of the "History 325: World War I" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History 325: World War I  

Last Updated: Feb 12, 2013 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page

History databases

WWI trench warfareWWIKaiser WilhelmTroops in trench

Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.

Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.

America: History & Life
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.

Project Muse
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.

Finding other scholarly and contemporaneous articles

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

Humanities International Complete
Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.

Historical New York Times
The entire New York Times, searchable, in image files, from 1851 to three years ago.

Historical Boston Globe
The entire Boston Globe, searchable, in image files, 1872-1979.

Readers' Guide Abstracts
Citations to articles in 600 popular U.S. magazines, 1890-1982.

The last three databases allow students to access news stories from the time of the Great War as events in Europe were reported in American magazines and newspapers of the period.


    Books on The Great War

    The Great War

    The principle subject heading in the Five Colleges Library Catalog for World War I is

    World War, 1914-1918.  Under this "main heading" are over a thousand subheadings!

    UMA WorldCat also has thousands of books, articles, websites, films, art, etc. on the Russian Revolution. Use Interlibrary Loan to have these materials brought here for your papers.


    Reference Resources

    Online resource:

    Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction, 2006.

    The following materials are shelved in the Reference Collection, Learning Commons level:

    The Encyclopedia of World War I: A Political, Social, and Military History.
    D510.E532005 5v.



    Refworks logo

    RefWorks is a bibliographical management software which will help you organize your citations, articles, books, etc. paid for by the UMass Amherst Library, that the UMass Amherst community can access from the Library website. RefWorks collects, stores, and organizes citations from books, articles from databases, web sites, and other sources. RefWorks automatically converts citations into properly formatted bibliographies

    More up-to-date than using 3"x5' index cards!

    Index cards


    Old magazines

    The library has a collection of old magazines, from the Great War period, on the eighth floor. Mass-market titles such as Collier's, Harper's Weekly, and The Atlantic Monthly were enormously popular, and give insight into the mood at home as America edged towards war.

    The library also has long, wartime runs of The Spectator and The Illustrated London News, from the UK.

    © 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.

    Loading  Loading...