Skip to main content

History 331: English History from the Seventeenth Century

Arts databases

Caravaggio's Calling of St. Matthew

Art Abstracts
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1984-present.

Art Index Retrospective
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history, 1973-present.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Articles on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Date coverage varies by title; some 1912-present.

Finding other scholarly articles

Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

Humanities International Complete
Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A bibliography of scholarly publications on the Middle Ages and Renaissance; the ITER Italia manuscript catalog; and three journals. Covers the period 400-1700; citations date back to 1784.

MLA International Bibliography
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920’s -

Books on Caravaggio

History databases

Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.

Project Muse
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.

Finding other scholarly and contemporaneous articles (Primary materials)

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

Humanities International Complete
Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.

Early English Books Online
The 125,000 earliest books published in English, 1475-1700.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Every significant book or pamphlet printed in the UK, and English-language titles printed in America, between 1701 and 1800.

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900   AI3.W44
Index to articles in British periodicals
Print only; shelved Reference

Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-1899
Print only; shelved in Reference    AL3.N71

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
  AI3.P7 1802-1881
Print only; shelved in Reference

Palmer's Index to the Times newspaper, 1790-   AI21.T5,(also  T57 & T58)
The Times of London is available on microfilm, A9
Print only; in the stacks (floor 8)

Historical New York Times
The entire New York Times, searchable, in image files, from 1851 to three years ago.

Hansard Online

"
This site is generated from information from Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament." 1803-2005.

Mt. Holyoke has Hansard and other British parliamerntary materials online.
Smith College has the Goldsmith's-Kress Library of historical economic materials online

Books on British History

The principle subject heading in the Five Colleges Library Catalog for British history is

Great Britain--History. Under this "main heading" are several thousand subheadings, divided by time period and monarch.

There are also many other relevant subject headings, such as

Great Britain--Economic policy
Great Britain-- Foreign relations
Great Britain--Foreign economic relations
Great Britain--Politics and government
Great Britain--Commerce
etc., etc.

Great Britain--Board of Trade
Great Britain--Parliament--House of Commons

For material on British involvement in various commodities, try catalog searches such as

Sugar Trade--West Indies
Sugar trade--England
Slave trade--Great Britain
etc.

UMA WorldCat also has thousands of books, articles, websites, films, art, etc. on British history. Use Interlibrary Loan to have these materials brought here for your papers.

Reference Resources

The Oxford Companion to British History

A Dictionary of British History

Encyclopedia of European Social History

History of World Trade Since 1450

The following encyclopedias can be found in the Reference Stacks, Learning Commons level:

Reader's Guide to British History  DA34.R43 2003

Medieval England  DA129.M43 1998

Tudor England   DA315.T753

Britain in the Hanoverian Age  DA480.B75 1997

Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era  DA550.E527 2004

Who's Who in British History  DA28.W616 1998

Collin's Encyclopedia of Scotland   DA772.C618  1994

The Encyclopedia of Ireland  DA906.E54 2003

RefWorks

Refworks logo

RefWorks is a bibliographical management software which will help you organize your citations, articles, books, etc. paid for by the UMass Amherst Library, that the UMass Amherst community can access from the Library website. RefWorks collects, stores, and organizes citations from books, articles from databases, web sites, and other sources. RefWorks automatically converts citations into properly formatted bibliographies

More up-to-date than using 3"x5' index cards!

Index cards

Mandatory style for papers

Papers written for this class should follow the Chicago Manual of Style for footnotes and bibliography:

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.