This is the "American Revolution" page of the "Newspaper Collection: US Newspapers by Historical Event" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspaper Collection: US Newspapers by Historical Event  

Last Updated: Aug 1, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/NewspapersHistoricEvent Print Guide

American Revolution Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

US Newspapers by Historical Event

The following listing of U.S. newspapers by historical event is arranged by state and then alphabetically by city. Brackets [ ] indicate incomplete holdings. In many cases only the holdings most closely pertaining to the event timeline appear rather than the complete holdings for that title. For the most accurate holdings information consult with a Reference Librarian or check the online catalog.  Current UMass Amherst students, faculty, and staff enjoy remote access to the online resources while others are welcome to use these resources within the University Libraries.

The W.E.B. Du Bois Library at the University of Massachusetts Amherst houses an outstanding newspaper collection. Acquired through purchase, donation, and subscription, these primary sources document historical events as they occurred by those who witnessed them.  Newspapers provide a treasure-trove of information for genealogists - vital research clues (relationships, dates, addresses, etc.), insights into ancestors’ daily lives, and private tidbits unavailable elsewhere.

 

Newspapers: American Revolution, 1775 - 1783

Country & City Newspaper Name Holdings Location
1775-1783      
Connecticut
Hartford Connecticut Courant 1778 UM Microprint 60
CT Courant and Hartford Weekly Intelligencer 1774-1778 UM Microprint 60
Connecticut Courant and The Weekly Intelligencer 1778-1791 UM Microprint 60
The Hartford Courant 1764-1990 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
New London CT Gazette, and The Universal Intelligencer 1773-1787 UM Microprint 12
Norwich Norwich Packet 1777-1779 UM Microprint 43
Norwich Packet & The CTj, MA, NH, & RI Wkly Adv 1773-1777 UM Microprint 43
The Norwich Packet or The Chronicle of Freedom 1783 UM Microprint 43
Maryland      
Annapolis Maryland Gazette [1777] Online: Accessible Archives
Massachusetts
Boston Boston Evening Post 08/18/1735-04/25/1775 UM Microprint 50
10/20/1781-01/10/1784 UM Microprint 4
[1775] UM Microfilm 2332
[1775] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Boston Gazette and Country Journal 04/12/1756-04/05/1779 UM Microprint 25
[1765-1777] UM Microfilm 2332
[1765-1777] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Boston Gazette and The Country Journal 04/12/1779-12/30/1793 UM Microprint 25
The Continental Journal and Weekly Advertiser 05/1776-06/1787 UM Microprint 19
[1776, 1778] UM Microfilm 2332
[1776, 1778] Online: Mass. Historical Society
The Independent Ledger and American Advertiser 1-5  1778 UM Microprint 31
The Independent Ledger and The Am. Advertiser [1778-1786] UM Microprint 31
The MA Gazette & The Boston Post-Boy & Adv. 10/1769-04/1775 UM Microprint 20
The Massachusetts Spy or Thomas's Boston J. 10/1772-04/1775 UM Microprint 1
New England Chronicle 04/1776-09/1776 UM Microprint 8
[1776] UM Microfilm 2332
[04/1776-05/1776] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Cambridge The New England Chronicle or The Essex Gazette 05/1775-04/1776 UM Microprint 16
[1775-1776] UM Microfilm 2332
[1775-1776] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Salem The Essex Gazette 04/1768-05/1775 UM Microprint 16
[1775] UM Microfilm 2332
[04/1775-05/1775] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Salem Gazette 10/18/1782-11/22/1785 UM Microprint 30
Worcester Haswell's MA Spy or American Oracle of Liberty 05/1778-06/1778 UM Microprint 1
The MA Spy or American Oracle of Liberty 05/1775-05/1778 UM Microprint 1
Thomas's MA Spy or American Oracle of Liberty 06/1778-05/1781 UM Microprint 1
Thomas's MA Spy or The Worcester Gazette 05/1781-03/1786 UM Microprint 1
New York
New York New York Gazette and Weekly Mercury 11/13/1775 Online: Burney Collection
New York Gazette and The Weekly Mercury 02/1768-11/1783 UM Microfilm A1041
New York Journal or General Advertiser 10/16/1766-08/29/1776 UM Microfilm A313
Rivington's NY Gazette and Universal Advertiser 11/1783-12/1783 UM Microprint 10
Rivington's NY Gaz. or The CT, Hudson's River... [10/1777] UM Microprint 10
Rivington's NY Gazetteer or The CT, NJ... 04/1773-11/1775 UM Microprint 10
05/12/1774-11/09/1775 Online: Burney Collection
Rivington's New York Loyal Gazette 10/1777-12/1777 UM Microprint 10
The Royal Gazette 12/1777-11/1783 UM Microprint 10
Pennsylvania
Philadelphia Freeman's J. or The North American Intelligencer 04/1781-05/1792 UM Microfilm A289
Henrich Millers Pennsylvanischer Staatsbote 05/1775-05/1779 UM Microfilm A233
The Pennsylvania Evening Post 01/24/1775-07/30/1781 UM Microprint 14
1775-1779 UM Microfilm A287
The PA Evening Post and Daily Advertiser 05/30/1783-10/26/1784 UM Microprint 14
The PA Evening Post and Public Advertiser 08/03/1781-05/19/1783 UM Microprint 14
Pennsylvania Gazette 09/1729-06/1778 UM Microfilm A935
11/1782-10/1815 UM Microfilm A935
1728-1800 Online: Accessible Archives
The Pennsylvania Gazette and Weekly Advertiser 1779-11/1782 UM Microfilm A935
The Pennsylvania Journal or Weekly Advertiser 12/1742-12/1780 UM Microfilm A277
The PA Ledger or The Phila. Market-Day Adv. 12/1777-05/1778 UM Microfilm A288
The PA Ledger or The VA, MD, PA & NJ Wkly. Adv. 1775-11/1776 UM Microfilm A288
The PA Ledger or The Weekly Advertiser 10/1777-11/1777 UM Microfilm A288
The Pennsylvania Packet 1776-1779 Online: Accessible Archives
The PA Packet and The General Advertiser 1771-1790 UM Microfilm A273
The Universal Instructor in All Arts & Sciences... 12/1728-09/1792 UM Microfilm A935
Der Wochentliche Pennsylvanische Staatsbote 01/1768-05/1775 UM Microfilm A233
Rhode Island
Providence Providence Gazette and Country Journal 1762-01/1795 UM Microprint 59
South Carolina
Charleston The Gazette of the State of South-Carolina 1777-1780 Online: Accessible Archives
04/09/1777-02/09/1780 Online: CRL
South Carolina and American General Gazette 1765-1775 Online: Accessible Archives
South Carolina Gazette 1732-1775 Online: Accessible Archives
1732-12/11/1775 Online: CRL
South Carolina Gazette and Country Journal 05/09/1775 Online: Burney Collection
1765-1775 Online: Accessible Archives
Virginia
Richmond The Virginia Gazette 1761-1780 Online: Accessible Archives
The Virginia Gazette 2 1766-1776 Online: Accessible Archives
The Virginia Gazette 3 1775-1780 Online: Accessible Archives
Williamsburg Virginia Gazette (Parks) [1736-1781] UM Microfilm A134 Reels 1-6
Virginia Gazette (Purdie) [1775-1780] UM Microfilm A134 Reels 5-6
Virginia Gazette (Rind) [1766-1776] UM Microfilm A134 Reels 4-6
© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip