This is the "Home" page of the "HIST 450 Trials in European History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 450 Trials in European History  

Last Updated: Sep 14, 2016 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page



  • UMass Interlibrary Loan
    Obtain a loan of books from libraries outside of the Five Colleges or request copies of articles and materials from any library.
  • RefWorks
    A citation management service for storing and formatting bibliographic references.
  • History Department


The Library subscribes to many historical newspapers in digital format and in microfilm. Consult the Online Catalog in order to determine what the Library has and how to locate the many titles. For example, the Library has electronic versions of African American Newspapers, Latin American Newspapers, Caribbean Newspapers, the Boston Globe, the New York Times, the Washington Post, and many more along with numerous newspapers on microfilm.


    GOOGLE Searches

    These are  highly recommended sites for beginning your research into articles and books on your subject.



    • Academic Search Premier
      A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
    • America: History and Life
      Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history, 1954-present.
    • British Periodicals
      Digitized collections of over 450 British periodicals published between the 17th and early 20th century covering literature, history, science, fine arts and social sciences.
    • Eighteenth Century Collections Online
      Over 136,000 titles (155,000 volumes)
      Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more
      Based on the English Short Title Catalogue
      Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere
      Primarily in English - also includes other languages
    • HathiTrust Digital Library
      HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
    • Historical Abstracts
      Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present. Published 1954-present.
    • Nineteenth Century Collections Online
      A growing collection of primary sources and literature, mainly British so far.
    • Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
      1 million newspaper pages
      Newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations
      The most comprehensive collection of early English newspapers
      Titles from London, British Isles, and colonies
    • Web of Science
      Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in almost all important English-language journals. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Jim Kelly
    Contact Info
    Research and Liaison Services
    Room 01
    W.E.B. Du Bois Library
    (413) 545-3981
    (413) 577-1536 (fax)
    Send Email
    © 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.

    Loading  Loading...