This is the "Home" page of the "ESL 130: English as a Second Language Advanced Composition & ESL 290F: University Writing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ESL 130: English as a Second Language Advanced Composition & ESL 290F: University Writing  

Last Updated: Oct 4, 2016 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page

Citation Management

Use a citation manager, such as RefWorks to keep track of your research.

Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.


If you need more help or info on RefWorks, check out the online guides and webinars or Ask a Librarian.

If you're looking for another citation management option to RefWorks, try Zotero.


Ready for Advanced Research?

Get to know… 

In Person - By Phone - Instant Messenger- E-mail - Research Consultation Appointment


Books and more!


TIP: When you look for a particular book on the shelf, make sure to browse the shelf and nearby shelves for related books. Take your time! Open the books!

 To find books at UMass, you have two options.

  1. Start with the general search box on the library home page,  

    This catalog gives you access to libraries and collections throughout North America and beyond! It starts with UMass but does not limit you to our catalog.

  2. Or, use the Five Colleges Library Catalog.

    This catalog lets you search in some very specifc ways, for example, by Library of Congress Subject Heading. Be as specific as possible in your searching. Start with a subject search (use keyword if subject yields no results). Search by author, title, subject, keyword, call number, journal title, etc. For materials on a specific subject, enter your term(s) into the Subject or Keyword search boxes.


NOTE: Many of our newer books are online only. If  you prefer a paper copy, we can help you borrow via Inter-Library Loan.


Tip for databases

After you've run a search, use the button to retrieve articles or to be taken directly to the Interlibrary Loan request page, so you can order the article if UMass does not have it.

Research Databases

Here are some ways to find information in a variety of subjects and formats.

  • Research Databases
    Choose your topic from the list and quickly find the best library databases to search. A few databases to start with:

    - Academic Search Premier (articles)
    - ebrary (electronic books)
    - CQ Researcher (overviews of current issues)
    - Britannica Online (scholarly alternative to Wikipedia)
  • Academic Search Premier
    A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines
  • ebrary
    Scholarly and popular books online in full text!
  • ERIC
    Education journal articles and reports
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full text of thousands of newspapers (including university presses) and TV and radio news transcripts, as well as business and legal information.

Learn about journals and journal artices!

What's a peer-reviewed journal?
Many of our journals are peer-reviewed. If you don't know what that means or why it matters, watch this video.

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Loading  Loading...