Skip to main content

New England Science Boot Camp 2018

Official website for the 10th annual New England Science Boot Camp for Librarians

Boot Camp Schedule

The schedule below is as finalized as it can be at this point in time! Here is a PDF to download for those who want it. A print copy will be included in your registration packet and a mini version with your nametag. 

Tuesday, June 12

5:00 - 10:00 pm Early Bird Residence Hall Check-in at The Village

PLEASE NOTE: No meals are provided until Lunch on Wednesday, so you are on your own for Tuesday dinner and Wednesday breakfast!

Wednesday Morning Activities (Pre-Registration Required)

ACTIVITY #1: Visit Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections

The Brandeis reference archivist will prepare a special display featuring some of their science-related content, and be on hand for questions. (Limited to 20 participants per session.)

  • Times : 9:00 - 10:00 am and 10:30 - 11:30 am

ACTIVITY #2: Soldering Workshop in the MakerLab

Learn to solder on circuit boards during the MakerLab soldering training. Our own Melanie Radik will be assisting with this hands-on activity! (Limited to 12 participants per session.)

  • Times : 9:00 - 10:30 am and 10:30 am - Noon

Wednesday, June 13 Schedule

8:00 am - 2:00 pm Residence Hall Check-in at The Village
8:30 am - 1:00 pm

Science Boot Camp Registration - Goldfarb Library, Information & Borrowing Desk

(after 1:00 pm, please go to the Mandel Center for the Humanities to get your registration packet)

9:00 - 10:00 am**

ACTIVITY #1** - University Archives & Special Collections - Goldfarb Library

(Get directions to University Archives & Special Collections at Registration)

9:00 - 10:30 am**

ACTIVITY #2** - Soldering Workshop - Goldfarb Library

(Get directions to Vershbow Classroom at Registration)

10:30 - 11:30 am**

ACTIVITY #1** - University Archives & Special Collections - Goldfarb Library

(Get directions to University Archives & Special Collections at Registration)

10:30 am - Noon**

ACTIVITY #2** - Soldering Workshop - Goldfarb Library

(Get directions to Vershbow Classroom at Registration)

11:00 am - 1:00 pm Lunch - Faculty Club Buffet
1:15 - 1:45 pm Welcome & Logistics - Mandel Center for the Humanities, Auditorium G03
1:45 - 4:30 pm

SESSION I: ECOLOGY

Overview - Miranda Davis, University of Connecticut

Afternoon Coffee & Snack Break

Research - Eric Olson, Brandeis University

4:30 - 5:00 pm Meet & Greet for Mentors & Mentees - Mandel Center for the Humanities
5:00 - 6:15 pm Dinner - Faculty Club Buffet
6:30 - 7:30 pm

Evening Talk - Mandel Center for the Humanities, Auditorium G03

Ivan Oransky, Co-Founder of Retraction Watch

 “Retractions, Post-Publication Peer Review, and Fraud: Scientific Publishing’s Wild West”

**For those who signed up when registering for Boot Camp

Thursday, June 14 Schedule

7:30 - 8:45 am Breakfast - Faculty Club Buffet
8:00 - 9:00 am

Thursday-only Attendee Check-in 

Mandel Center for the Humanities, Auditorium G03

9:00 - 9:15 am Announcements & Logistics - Mandel Center for the Humanities, Auditorium G03
9:15 am - Noon

SESSION II: GENETIC COUNSELING - Mandel Center, Auditorium G03

Overview - Lauren Lichten, Brandeis University

Morning Coffee & Snack Break

Research - Gayun Chan-Smutko, Brandeis University

Lacey Smith, Boston Children's Hospital

12:15 - 1:15 pm Lunch - Faculty Club Buffet
1:30 - 4:15 pm

SESSION III: MATERIALS SCIENCE - Mandel Center, Auditorium G03

Overview - Christopher Schuh, MIT

Afternoon Coffee & Snack Break

Research - Seth Fraden, Brandeis University

5:30 - 9:00 pm

Dinner & 10th Anniversary Party - Faculty Club

We will start with some memories of Boot Camps past.

Then we'll have dinner, followed by cake, games, and time to socialize!

There will be a cash bar available from 6:30-9:00 pm.

 

Friday, June 15 Schedule

7:30 - 8:45 am Breakfast - Faculty Club Buffet
8:00 - 9:00 am

Friday-only Attendee Check-in

Mandel Center for the Humanities, Auditorium G03

8:00 am - 1:00 pm

Residence Hall Check-out Mandel Center for the Humanities, Auditorium G03

return keys to Melanie Radik

9:00 am - Noon

CAPSTONE SESSION - Mandel Center for the Humanities, Auditorium G03

Evaluating Journals - Carolyn Mills, University of Connecticut

Morning Coffee & Snack Break

Evaluating Data - Margarita Corral & Aimee Slater, Brandeis University

12:15 - 1:30 pm Lunch - Faculty Club Buffet
1:30 - 1:45 pm** Meet for Field Ecology Field Trip** - Theater Parking Lot
2:00 - 4:00 pm**

Field Ecology Field Trip to Weston Woods**

Weston Woods Field Research Site

Hosted by Brian Donahue, Brandeis University

**For those who signed up when registering for Boot Camp

Friday Afternoon Activity (Pre-Registration Requested)

Friday Afternoon Field Ecology Field Trip

Brandeis researcher Brian Donahue will lead a hike through his research site in the Weston Woods and talk about his role in the deer hunting / Lyme disease control research project he participated in with our Ecology research speaker Eric Olsen.

The site is a 15-minute drive from campus, so we plan to carpool. More details to come.

  • We recommend that you bring hiking boots or other sturdy shoes for this activity.
  • Other recommendations may be forthcoming!